R. Clanton wins feature at Senoia

From Staff Reports

In the Big 8 100 lap Pro Late Model feature, Marc Mitchell established the fastest time in qualifying and took the green flag from the pole position; he was pursued closely by Bobby East and Rusty Clanton.

A caution came out on the first lap when two cars were involved in a spin in turn one.

When racing resumed, the running order was: Mitchell, East, Clanton and Linny Foster.

On lap 8, East dove low going into turn one and raced Mitchell door-to-door for the lead; finally taking the top spot on lap 10.

By lap 10, the running order was: East, Clanton, Mitchell and Foster. The running order would remain the same until lap 50 when Ronnie Kittle charged into the fourth place position. On lap 68, Clanton took over the lead from East, followed by: East, Kittle and Mitchell.

On lap 95, with 5 laps remaining, Clanton continued in the lead, while Kittle took over the second place position.

When the checkered flag waved on lap 100, Clanton took the win, followed by: kittle, East, Scotty Ellis and Mitchell.

In the Legends 50 lap special event, the Semi Pro drivers had their opportunity to demonstrate their driving skills against the Masters and Pro Legends drivers; which made for some exciting competition!

Both divisions qualified in their respective heat races, then the machines were lined up according to their qualifying positions, with the Pro / Master's Division lining up in back of the field. In all, 25 Legends Cars qualified for the event.

When the green flag waved, Tony Yawn Jr. jumped out to an early lead and occupied the top spot until Bubba Harry took over the lead on lap 10.

Harry continued to lead the event while Pro Drivers worked their way through the field. By lap 12, Pro Driver Doug Ludwig had advanced into the third place position, and by lap 16, Ludwig had taken over the second place position. Harry and Ludwig fought for the lead position lap 16 through lap 25, when Ludwig took over the lead; he was followed by: Harry and Pro Driver's Andy James and Chris Vaughan. James, Harry and Vaughan would battle for position until Rose Ulrich was involved in an incident going into turn one which caused her machine to make hard contact with the outside wall. Ulrich was uninjured in the incident.

When racing resumed, the running order was: Ludwig, Harry, James and Vaughan. Harry, James and Vaughan continued to battle for position, with Harry and Vaughan making contact on lap 41 as the two machines entered turn three resulting in both machines spinning and receiving damage.

Ludwig continued to lead the event and took the checkered flag, followed by: James, Chris Cable, Trent Mayo and Cindy Anderson.

In one of the most hotly contested races of the season, the Sportsman Drivers battled fiercely for the entirety of the 25 lap event, which resulted in several spins and few machines returning to the pits without damage. Johnny Todd established himself as the early leader of the event, with last weeks winner, Andy Cash determined to relieve Todd of the top spot.

Rod Williford occupied the third position followed closely by Norman Layton.

On lap 14, Cash made his move to the inside of Todd going into turn one, and took over the lead, the running order was:

Cash, Todd, Layton and Williford. As the leaders began to work their way through lap traffic on lap 18, contact was made between Layton and Todd. Layton's machines received damage to the right front causing him to enter the pits.

On lap 21, another caution was brought out when the machines of Terry Crump, Paul Benefield and Mike Jenkins made contact; all three machines reported to the pits for repairs and returned to the heated contest.

Todd had once again taken over the lead on lap 21, followed by Williford, Benefield and Jenkins. When the checkered flag waved, it was Todd taking the win, followed by: Williford, Jenkins, Benefield and Shane Upchurch

In the Pro Challenge event Terry Mathis was the winner once again, but not without a concentrated effort on the part of Rusty McLaine, Kyle Kennedy and Stephen Curlee.

The competition in this division is becoming more intense each week as the National event is scheduled at Senoia Speedway for May 10th.

In the Bandolero 15 Lap feature, Marci Bristol established the lead early in the event, with Trey Maughan taking over the top spot on lap 5; the running order was: Maughan, Brostol, Jonathan Chandler and Kyle Kitchens. By lap 11, Chandler had advanced into the second place position behind Maughan, followed by Kitchens and Jody Pilkenton.

When the checkered flag waved, Maughan took the win, followed by: Chandler, Kyle Mitchell, Kitchens and Pilkenton.

Mike Chambers took the win in the Modified Mini Stock Division while Steve Woodward took the honors in the Modified Street Stock Division

.Big 8 Late Model 100 Lap Feature:1. Rusty Clanton 2. Ronny Kittle 3. Bobby East 4. Scotty Ellis 5. Marc Mitchell

Legends Semi Pro / Masters/ Pro 50 Lap Special Feature:1. Doug Ludwig 2. Andy James 3. Chris Cable 4. Trent Mayo 5. Cindy Anderson

Sportsman 25 Lap Feature: 1. Johnny Todd 2. Rod Williford 3. Mike Jenkins 4. Paul Benefield 5. Shane Upchurch

Pro Challenge 20 Lap Feature:1. Terry Mathis 2. Rusty McLaine 3. Kyle Kennedy 4. Stephen Curlee 5. Cameron Micheal

Bandolero 15 Lap Feature:

1. Trey Maughan 2. Jonathan Chandler 3. Kyle Mitchell 4. Kyle Kitchens 5. Jody Pilkenton