Police officers to be awarded

By Ed Brock

The International Association of Chiefs of Police will honor two Clayton County Police Department officers next week.

Capts. Dave Johnson and Tom Israel will travel to Philadelphia on Tuesday to receive their respective awards during the IACP Conference to be held there, according to Capt. Jeff Turner.

Johnson heads the department's aviation unit and will receive the IACP Excellence in Aviation Award.

Israel commands the department's traffic unit and also the Metro-Atlanta Highway Enforcement of Aggressive Traffic unit that includes departments in Clayton, Henry, Fulton, Cobb, Gwinnett and DeKalb counties as well as the cities of Atlanta and College Park. The unit competed against other HEAT units around the country and earned the first place honors in the multi-jurisdictional category and in the areas of Impaired Driving and Speed Awareness.