Ribbon cuttings ring in new schools

By Greg Gelpi

With the simple cutting of a ribbon, the Clayton County school system took a chunk out of its need for classrooms.

The school system officially opened Kemp Primary School, Thurgood Marshall Elementary School and the new campus of Jonesboro Middle School during ribbon-cutting ceremonies this week.

The new schools will accommodate the growing number of Clayton County students, which is expected to surpass the number of students in the Atlanta city school system.

Kemp Primary shares its name and campus with Kemp Elementary. Its namesake is Edwin S. Kemp, the first juvenile court judge in Clayton County. The school is the first primary school in the county and will teach kindergarten through second grade students.

Marshall Elementary is named after Thurgood Marshall, the black attorney involved in Brown versus the Board of Education. He also served as the first black U.S. Supreme Court justice.

Jonesboro Middle relocated behind Arnold Elementary. Its old campus is being renovated and turned into the facility for the Open Campus/Career Academy.

The addition of the schools brings the number of schools in the Clayton County system to 56 and adds 150 classrooms. School begins Monday in Clayton County.