Sorensontrying to stay on course

By Anthony Rhoads

Since 2002, Reed Sorenson has done quite a bit in the American Speed Association series.

He's racked up several top-fives and top-10s and last year, won the ASA Pat Schauer Rookie of the Year. Despite all the accomplishments, the 18-year-old from Peachtree City has not visited victory lane even though he's come close several times.

Saturday at Berlin Raceway in Michigan, Sorenson, a three-time Thursday Thunder points champion, started the ASA race in second but finished 16th.

Sorenson has one top-five and two top-10s this year in the ASA series and one top-five in the ARCA series.

The ASA series gets back into action July 4 at Pikes Peak International Raceway with the race starting at 2 p.m. CST. The race will be televised on the Speed Channel.

The American Speed Association has featured many local drivers in the last several years, most notably Joey Clanton, a native of Jonesboro. Clanton was the 2002 ASA points champion and was the 2000 rookie of the year.

Senoia update: Bre Sharp, 13-year-old driver from Fayetteville, picked up her first Bandolero victory Saturday at Senoia Speedway.

Sharp is a regular competitor at both Senoia and at Atlanta Motor Speedway's Thursday Thunder summer series.

In Saturday's race, brothers-in-law Vince Ponder and Darrell Banks placed second and third after Sharp. Ponder won the 2002 Bandolero Outlaws championship at Thursday Thunder and last year, Banks won six races but finished second in the Thursday Thunder Outlaws points standings.

Morrow's Andy James won Saturday's Pro Division race Saturday at Senoia. Rounding out the top five were Tony Yawn Jr., Chris Dilbeck, Casey Tate and Aaron Brooks.

James has competed at Senoia and Atlanta Motor Speedway for several years and in 2001, he won the Pro Division points title at Senoia.

Lanier update: Thursday Thunder regulars were among the top finishers Saturday in the Pro and Masters Division race at Lanier National Speedway. Beau Slocumb placed second, Larry Friddle finished sixth and Dwight Pilgrim placed ninth.