Brown Elementary announcing council dates

Compiled by Greg Gelpi


Brown Elementary School announced the meeting dates for its school council. The meetings will be from 7:30 a.m. to 8:20 a.m. Sept. 16, Nov. 18, Jan. 20, March 17 and May 19. The first three people to sign in by 7:20 a.m. the morning of the meetings will be allowed to address the council for three minutes. To learn more, call (770) 473-2785.

The Clayton County Library Headquarters has Baby Talk at 10 a.m. Mondays. The program is for adults with babies newborns to 20 months and includes educational toys, bubbles, durable cardboard books and music. Call (770) 473-3850 for more information.

The Clayton County Library System is sponsoring its Vacation Reading Program, which runs through Aug. 7. Infants to 18-year-olds can earn rewards for listening to and reading books through the free program. To learn more, visit www.clayton.public.lib.ga.us or call (770) 473-3850.

First Baptist Church in Jonesboro is holding enrollment for its early learning center for next school year. The program offers preschool classes for children ages 6 months to 4 years old, as well as a state-approved kindergarten. For more information, call Kim Blackwood or Sherry Jones at (770) 471-9585.

The Suder Elementary School Council announced its meeting schedule. The council will meet at 7:30 a.m. on the second Wednesday of each month at Suder Elementary. The meetings are July 14, Aug. 11, Sept. 8, Oct. 13, Nov. 10 and Dec. 8.


Amy Zvonar of Jonesboro graduated from Agnes Scott College. She was also named to the dean's list for the spring semester.

Jennifer Lee Kim of Jonesboro graduated from Brown University.

Local students Chassidy Nicole Turner, Raschelle Nicole Porter and Amelia Akins George graduated from LaGrange College.

Julie Colantoni of Jonesboro and Sally Palmer of Riverdale were named to the spring dean's list at Oglethorpe University.

The Georgia Institute of Technology released its spring list of honors. On the dean's list were Kwai Choi of Ellenwood, Brianna Ford of Ellenwood, Stephen Blackstone of Jonesboro, Katherine Cooper of Jonesboro, Annette Daly of Jonesboro, Kevin Middlebrooks of Jonesboro, Jessica Millsap of Jonesboro, Akit Patel of Jonesboro, Aaron Sohacki of Jonesboro, Erin Williams of Jonesboro, James Zielinski of Jonesboro, Aaron Baker of Jonesboro, Chu Chung of Jonesboro, Noah Randolph of Jonesboro, Steven Campbell of Morrow, Christina Whitaker of Morrow, Brian Etheridge of Rex, Nur Hayat of Rex, Paula Verden of Riverdale, Matthew Bowman of Stockbridge, Christopher Dos Santos of Stockbridge, Justin Smith of Stockbridge and Brian Sudduth of Stockbridge.

Earning faculty honors were Andrew Maier of Jonesboro, Katherine Allen of Stockbridge and Colin Gallagher of Stockbridge.

Katie Elizabeth Adams of Jonesboro was named to the dean's list at Texas Christian University.

Mercer University announced its honors list. On the dean's list were Shoni M. Colbert of Ellenwood, Maria Celina Fajardo of Ellenwood, Tracy Gilchrist of Ellenwood, Tabetha Shea Kenefick of Ellenwood, Jacqueline Cosetta Shuler of Ellenwood, Amanda R. Sloan of Ellenwood, Versondra Arkevian Brown of Jonesboro, Aye Seydi Diallo of Jonesboro, Jacqueline Dottin-Dodd of Jonesboro, Heather Marchelle Fowler of Jonesboro, Deatrice D. Haney of Jonesboro, Marquez T. Holmes of Jonesboro, Atoya K. Hughes of Jonesboro, April Lexie Mobley of Jonesboro, Kellie Dianne Piner of Jonesboro, Patrina L. Bright of Morrow, D'Ayoine Beatrice Dawson of Morrow, Amanda Hicks of Morrow, Tonya La'Trice Brown of Rex, Veronica M. Allen of Riverdale, Aundria M. Debose of Riverdale, Angela Holmes of Riverdale, Soketa Nomic Johnson of Riverdale, Leslie Jeanne Ray of Riverdale, Tasha Shalace Warren of Riverdale, Edgwina M. Hendricks of College Park, Regina Nichols of College Park, Ambria Robinson of College Park, Sheila Gaye Rowe of College Park, Eleshia Sameria Thurman of College Park, Dione Marie Haughton of Forest Park and Regina Earle Nance of Forest Park.

On the president's list were Addis A. Tabor of Ellenwood, Cheryl Ann Winsor of Ellenwood, Yvette Yadira Alegria of Jonesboro, Ray Mears Buck of Jonesboro, Deborah Pettaway Docks of Jonesboro, Elizabeth Embury of Jonesboro, Janet Marie Miller of Jonesboro, Sunitha Nair of Jonesboro, Christina Reese of Jonesboro, Brigid C. Terrell of Jonesboro, David Lee Washington of Jonesboro, Sandra Booker of Riverdale and Carol T. Clements.

Clayton County school nutrition employees Micki Gaudry and Anna Blodgett attended the Georgia School Food Service Association in Helen.

School Notebook is compiled by Greg Gelpi. He can be reached at ggelpi@news-daily.com or (770) 478-5753 Ext. 247.