GHSA announces realignment

By Doug Gorman

It's still a year away, but when the 2006 school year begins, local high school athletic programs will be placed in new regions with local teams playing in every classification but Class AA.

Luella and Union Grove join Douglass, Lithonia, M.L. King, Newton, Redan and Stephenson in Region 2-AAAA. Morrow and Mundy's Mill will compete in Region 4-AAAAA along with East Coweta, Hiram, Newnan, Paulding County and Tri-Cities.

The region with the most local teams will come out of the 14-team subdived Region 4-AAAA.

In Division A, Forest Park, Jonesboro, Lovejoy, Mt. Zion, North Clayton and Riverdale form a solid Clayton County region. Griffin is also part of the subregion. In Region 4-AAAA Division B, Eagle's Landing and Stockbridge will compete against Baldwin County, Jones County, Northside Warner Robins, Upson-Lee and Westside-Macon.

Three teams from Henry County will drop to Class AAA once competition starts in 2006 as Dutchtown, Henry County and Ola, which will be a new school, join Jackson, Mary Persons and Spalding in Region 4-AAA Division A. Central Macon, Northeast Macon, Peach County, Perry, Southwest Macon and West Laurens make up the B-half of Region 4-AAA.

Eagle's Landing Christian will stay in Region 5-A, playing a subdived league. Eagle's Landing, Landmark Christian and Our Lady of Mercy and Whitfield Academy are the only football playing schools in the region.

For a complete list of all GHSA member schools and the new realigment, log on to GHSA.net.