Smith, Lawal honored

From staff reports

Jonesboro's Shadé Smith and Riverdale's Gani Lawal have been honored by the Atlanta Tip-Off Club.

Smith has been named to the club's Girls High School Team of the Year and Lawal has been named to the Boys Team of the Year,

Award winners will be will be recognized at the Naismith Awards Banquet April 8 at the Sheraton Atlanta Hotel.

Other players named to the boys team were Stockbridge's Markel Humphrey, South Cobb's De'Andre Adams, Stephenson's Alade Aminu, Marist's Rasheem Barrett, Griffin's Jay Brown, Sandy Creek's Aaron Caruthers, Mays' Rashad Chase, Southwest Atlanta Christian's Javaris Crittendon, Norcross' Daniel Emerson, Campbell's J.P. Felder, St. Francis' Mark Gomilla, Dacula's Billy Humphrey, Douglas County's JuJuan Jones, East Hall's Brody Langston, Riverdale's Gani Lawal, South Gwinnett's Mike Mercer, Buford's Andre Morgan, Banneker's Octavius Spann, Dunwoody's An'Juan Wilderness and Redan's Chris Williams.

Wheeler's Sharaud Curry was named the player of the year and Mays' Floyd Mack was named the coach of the year.

Etowah's Robert Westbrook was named the girls' coach of the year and Collins Hill's Maya Moore was named the girls player of the year.

Other members of the girls team were Flowery Branch's Beth Adcock, Greater Atlanta Christian's Katie Agin, Holy Innocents' Christy Brown, St. Pius X's Kelley Cain, Westlake's Franchesca Davenport, Stephenson's Rashawn Givens, Stone Mountain's Angelique Gray, Haralson County's Amy Horton, Collins Hill's Greteya Kelley, South Gwinnett's Gia Lockett, Carrollton's Jemere McCurty, Newnan's Ashley Melson, Cartersville's Damisha Moore, Chattahoochee's Lindsey Moss, Wesleyan's Sarah Moye, Redan's Porsha Philips, Jonesboro's Shadé Smith, Centennial's Maria Taylor, Bowdon's Thomassian Wyatt and Harrison's Susan Yenser.

"Each of these honorees had an outstanding season," Atlanta Tip-Off Club President Gary Stokan said. "We enjoyed following their successes and are excited to see what their careers will bring."