0

Wie proved she isn't ready - Brian Howard

A week ago, I wrote that Michelle Wie should forgo millions of dollars to finish high school and go to college.

A day after the column ran, I received an e-mail saying that I was wrong and crazy that a young girl (age 16) should forgo millions to go to college.

During which, the e-mailer said numerous times that I needed to do some research. Yet, I ask, did she do the proper research when she was disqualified from this past weekend's LPGA event in Palm Desert, Calif.?

Obvoiusly not. Wie is a good golfer and has the potential to be great. You would think that after playing the game for years upon years, that Wie would know all rules and regulations, but she didn't.

It appears that after she signed her card on Sunday, which earned her a fourth-place finish and earning $53,126, that she was disqualified for a mistake made during Saturday's round on the seventh hole.

Playing in Saturday's third round, Wie hit a shot into a bush on the par-5 seventh hole and was barely able to find it. She took an unplayable lie, dropped the ball and chipped up to within 15 feet to save par. No one said a word and Wie played that final round on Sunday.

But after play ended on Sunday and her card turned in, Wie and her caddie were called back out to the hole after rules officials reviewed tape from the day before. After a few questions and some measurements, Wie was disqualified because she should have added two strokes to her third-round 71.

Now, I know Wie is a veteran player and should know the rules, but the surprising thing about this DQ was that a Sports Illustrated reporter told tour officials that he was concerned about a drop Wie took the previous day.

After being a non-serious golfer for the past four years, I know that if something is wrong or unusal about a drop during a round, it should be brought up right away.

I question the motatives of the reporter, but at the same time, Wie should have known better.

But this type of thing isn't uncommon.

Paul Azinger was disqualified from the 1991 Doral Open after a television viewer called in and said he had built an improper stance for kicking rocks into a hazard on the 18th hole.

Bottom line is that Wie and the reporter were in the wrong. Certainly it was a rookie mistake. Then again, a rookie would still know right from wrong.

What a college football weekend: I can't believe my eyes in what happened over the weekend on the college gridiron.

I don't ever remember seeing games go down to last second like I did over the weekend. Notre Dame came within a fourth down play and the clock, of beating Southern California.

Pete Carroll pleaded with officials to put seven seconds back on the clock and the Trojans escaped with the win. The same could be said in Ann Arbor, where the much-hated Wolverines needed an extra two seconds (thanks to Lloyd Carr) to beat Penn State on the last play of the game.

The Ohio State University has gotten a new name. They are now called Ohio State High School after Saturday's game against Michigan State. The Buckeyes committed four turnovers and yet still won. Not too mention, Michigan State coach John L. Smith has now join Jim Mora as my two favorite football coaches to get quotes from.

The Ohio State High School name will stick with me until they learn how to not play like a high school. I've said it before and I'll say it again - Fire Jim Tressel.

Texas, which is the best team in the country, will be playing again in January at the Rose Bowl. Just who will actually join them?

(Brian Howard is a sports writer at The Daily. He can be e-mailed at: bhoward@news-daily.com )