New region alignments officially set for 2008-10 Southern Crescent teams

By Doug Gorman


The high school sports landscape is going to have a new look to it starting this fall as area teams begin play in their new regions.

Realignment of the new regions begins for the fall of 2008 and continues through the spring of 2010.

The new regions were finalized by the Georgia High School Association at a recent meeting.

For the first time, teams from the Southern Crescent will be represented in all five GHSA classifications.

Luella and Union Grove will again call Region 2-AAAAA home. The two Henry County schools will play region games against Douglass, Greenbrier, M.L. King, Newton, Redan and Stephenson.

Region 4-AAAAA will be subdivided with Morrow and Mundy's Mill competing in Division A along with East Coweta, Pebblebrook and Westlake.

Lovejoy and Riverdale wil compete against Chapel Hill, Creekside and Newnan Subdivision B.

Seven teams from the Southern Crescent will fight it out in Region 4-AAAA.

The leagues includes, Dutchtown, Forest Park, Jonesboro, Mt. Zion, North Clayton, Ola and Stockbridge from both Henry and Clayton County.

Their league also includes Alcovy and Griffin.

Region 4-AAA includes Eagle's Landing and Woodland. Locust Grove, which opens in 2009, will also be part of the league for one season.

Jackson, Mary Person, Rutland, South Atlanta, Southside and Spalding County are also scheduled to be members of the region.

Henry County is scheduled to drop all the way down to Class AA. The Warhawks will play out of Region 4-AA, along with Central Macon, Howard, Monticello, Northeast Macon, Putnam and Southwest Macon.

Eagle's Landing Christian is expected to play in Region 5-A for football, and Region 7-A for all other sports.

In football, the Chargers are expected to play for a region title against Fellowship Christian, Holy Innocents, Landmark Christian, Mt. Pisgah, Our Lady of Mercy, Pace Academy, Southwest Atlanta Christian and Whitefield Academy.

For all other sports, ELCA will compete in 7B-A.

The subregion also features, Ben Franklin, Eagle's Landing Christian, Green Forest Academy, Paideia, Tech Charter, W.D. Mohammed.

Region 7A-A includes Fellowship, Mt. Pisgah Christian, Providence, St. Francis, and Wesleyan .

New regions for the entire state can be viewed on the GHSA.net website.