Region 2-AAAAA and Region 4-AAAAA teams

From Staff Reports

The 2009 football season set to officially end this weekend with the crowing of the state champions, several Clayton and Henry players are garnering postseason honors.

Union Grove senior Anthony Williams highlights the list of players from the area named to the all-Region 2-AAAAA team. The defensive end, who has committed to signing with Georgia Tech, was named co-defensive player of the year in the region.

Williams is joined on the all-region first team by teammates T.J. Moon, a sophomore fullback and first team wide receiver Jordan Akins, a senior. Wolverines safety Avery Walls, a junior, was also named to the first team.

Luella, which missed the postseason by one game, placed two players on the first team. Senior Detrich Bonner garner first team honors on both sides of the ball. He was named as one of three wide receivers and also earned honors as a safety. Senior teammate Wayne Parker was named as a cornerback.

There were 11 players named to the second team and another 17 named to the honorable mention team for the region.

In Region 4-AAAAA, 13 players from the area were named to the all-Region 4-AAAAA first team.

Named to the first team offense were Lovejoy players Vic Hardison, a junior quarter, junior wide receiver Jeron Weston and senior center C.J. Mock. They are joined on the first team by Riverdale senior running back Deaunte Trigger, Morrow senior wide receiver Charles Combs and Mundy's Mill senior tight end Marcus Gillam. Forest Hill of Morrow was named the first-team long snapper.

Receiving first-team defensive honors were Lovejoy's seniors Robert Smith (inside linebacker), Hondo Carter (inside linebacker) and Tyler Miles (cornerback). Wildcat juniors David Washington (defensive end), Josh Walker (defensive tackle) and Nick Smith (safety) were also named to the first team defense.

In addition, four other area players were named to the second team and 11 more received defensive honors.