Seven local wrestlers win titles at South Metro Tournament

From Staff Reports

Henry County wrestling coach Marty Hutsell says the 2009-10 Warhawk squad is rebuilding.

It was hard to tell Saturday at the South Metro wrestling Tournament, after the Warhawks finished second with 173.5 points.

Henry County finished just seven points behind Fayette County, which won the event after tallying 180 points and brining home two individual titles.

Sophomore Dalvin Tomlinson, the Warhawks 285-pounder, was named the meet's most outstanding wrestler after winning his weight class.

His bout with McIntosh's Sean Carney went overtime, and was also voted the best match of the day.

Tomlinson, who also plays on the football team for the Warhawks, has made the transition from the gridiron with ease.

"He is going to be very good," Hutsell said. "We expect some big things out of him."

Despite the its second-place finish, Hutsell says his Warhawks had a chance to finish as the tournament champions.

"We should have won the whole thing," said Hutsell. "Still it was a good performance for us, but to come that close leaves a little bit of a sour taste in my mouth."

Ola finished fourth with 167.5 points, Union Grove was sixth with 134.5 points, and Locust Grove, which played to host to the 34 team field, was seventh with 133.5 points.

Locust Grove, which opened its doors in September, was competing in its first South Metro Tournament ever

Henry County also picked up a title from 125-pounder Shaydarious Slaughter en route to its second-place afternoon.

Ola, which went into the tournament with high hopes, brought home one first-place finish from Dylan Moore who took home the title in the 160-pound division.

Union Grove ended its title hunt with its sixth-place finish. The Wolverines entered the tournament as the three-time defending champions. Alex Lazor was the 130-pound winner.

Locust Grove's Zach Brown won the 135-pound division.

Although Jonesboro finished 19th, the Cardinals did bring home two first-place finishes as Michael Carlisle won 215-pound division, and Giovonte Ortiz won the 140.