Police Department honors employees of the year

By Linda Looney-Bond


The Clayton County Police Department recently recognized nine employees for distinguished service throughout the past year.

"The honorees performed above and beyond their call of duty in departments ranging from Animal Control to Uniform Patrol," said GlenNeta Griffin, public information officer for the department, in a written statement.

All were presented with a plaque including the details of their honors. The certified officers also received the distinguished Medal of Merit, according to Griffin.

The presenters of the awards included Clayton County Police Chief Jeff Turner, Deputy Police Chief Tim Robinson, and Deputy Police Chief Greg Porter, she said.

The 2009 honorees are:

* Sherice Jones, Animal Control Officer of the Year.

* Terry Cheney, Code Enforcement Officer of the Year.

* Devorah Lane, E911 Dispatcher of the Year.

* Sonya Daniel, Police Services Clerk of the Year.

* Kenneth Chappell, Crime Scene Investigator of the Year.

* Mitch Kincaid, Detective of the Year.

* Brian Hoopingarner, Special Agent of the Year.

* Pat Chapman, Administrative Professional of the Year.

* Robert M. Gardner, Officer of the Year.

In addition, the Distinguished Service Recognition Award was presented to Henry S. "Chick" Lee for outstanding commitment to the highest standards of excellence. Lee was the 12th police officer hired by the Clayton County Police Department, according to Griffin.