Qualifying dates announced for vacated House seat

By Joel Hall


Georgia Secretary of State Karen Handel has announced the qualifying dates for candidates seeking to fill the vacated House District 75 seat, once held by Jonesboro Democrat, Celeste Johnson.

Qualifying for the seat will take place Tuesday, Sept. 8 from 9 a.m., to 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, Sept. 9 from 8 a.m., to 5:30 p.m., and Thursday, Sept. 10 from 8 a.m., to 12 p.m. Candidates will qualify at the Elections Division of the Office of Secretary of State, located at 1104 West Tower, 2 Martin Luther King, Jr., Drive, in Atlanta. The fee for qualifying is $400.

Johnson tendered her resignation letter to Gov. Sonny Perdue on Aug. 11. Her last day in office was Monday.

According to Annie Bright, director of the Clayton County Board of Elections and Registration, the election for House District 75 will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 3 from 7 a.m., to 7 p.m., at 11 precinct locations within the district: Forest Park 4, at Babb Middle School; Forest Park 5, at Philadelphia Presbyterian Church; Forest Park 6, at Haynie Elementary School; Jonesboro 4, at Kilpatrick Elementary School; Jonesboro 9, at the Shelnutt Intergenerational Center; Jonesboro 15, at the Clayton County Headquarters Library; Morrow 2, at the Morrow Municipal Complex; Oak 3, at West Clayton Elementary School; Riverdale 5, at Riverdale Middle School; Riverdale 6, at Tara Elementary School; and Riverdale 7, at The Flint River Center on Garden Walk Boulevard.

Voters can request an absentee ballot from the Clayton County Board of Elections and Registration through the close of the business day on Friday, Oct. 30. Absentee ballots must be returned to the office by the close of the polls on election day, Nov. 3. Photo identification is not required when voting by mail.

Citizens must be registered to vote by Oct. 5 to participate in the Nov. 3 election. Voter registration forms can be obtained at the Clayton County Board of Elections and Registration, located on the main floor of the Historic Clayton County Courthouse in Jonesboro, at 121 South McDonough Street, or by visiting the Secretary of State's web site, www.sos.georgia.gov.