CSU forms international programs input group

By Curt Yeomans


Clayton State University announced, on Friday, that Director of International Programs John Parkerson, has created an informal, 19-member International Programs Advisory Committee.

The committee is made up of Clayton State faculty and staff members, who will provide Parkerson with suggestions for development of the university's international programs, according to a written statement from the school.

The international programs area includes several activities, including study-abroad opportunities, and faculty exchanges between Clayton State and colleges and universities that are located in foreign countries.

"The Office of International Programs wants your critical input as future international programs ... are considered and designed," Parkerson wrote, in an e-mail to committee members.

Faculty members appointed to the committee, by Parkerson, include: Associate Professor Christopher Ward (history); Assistant Professor Victoria Pasley (history); Associate Dean of the School of Business Diane Prince; Management Professor Michael Deis; Assistant Professor Paul Melvin (biology); Professor Catherine Deering (psychology); Health and Fitness Management Program Coordinator Melanie Poudevigne; Associate Professor Karen Weaver (nursing) ; Assistant Vice President of Academic Outreach Kevin Demmitt; Department of Social Sciences Chairman Rafik Mohamed; Assistant Professor Augustine Ayuk (political science); Associate Professor Gregory McNamara (English) ; Assistant Professor Eugene Ngezem (English); Assistant Professor Susan Rashid Horn (English); Associate Professor Karen Young (sociology); Assistant Professor Nikki Finlay (economics); and Director of Bands Patrick Carney.

Spivey Hall Executive Director Sam Dixon, and Clayton State Director of Development Reda Rowell were also appointed to the committee.