Jackson High School recognizes student achievement

Photo by Rebecca Long

Photo by Rebecca Long

By Diane Glidewell


Parents, teachers and students gathered recently to celebrate achievement in the classrooms of Jackson High School.

The Annual Honors Day Program for Jackson High School was held Thursday night, May 13, to recognize the work of ninth- through 12th-grade students for the 2009-2010 school year. Several hundred parents and other supporters filled the Family Life Building at Jackson First Baptist Church to cheer for the academic accomplishments of the students.

"We have a whole lot of students who do very well," said Jackson High School Principal Duane Kline. "It's easy to get caught up in other things and forget the students who excel in what we are here for."

The awards ceremony culminated in the announcement of Katie Alling as valedictorian, and Riley Newman as salutatorian, of the 2010 graduating class. Other members of the class who were named as honor graduates and received gold stoles to wear in the graduation ceremony on Friday, May 28, were Amber Cain, James Campbell, Justin Farquhar, Alissa Fendrick, Jody Glidewell, Keilandra Greer, China Head, Kory House, Candice Jordan, Austin Kimbell, Stephanie Law, Emily Maddox, Ashley Mathen, Ta-Mia McGruder, Heather McWhorter, Brittany Miller, Danielle Morian, Justin Munson, Brittany Norris, Jessica Roberts, Morgan Shadix, Dylan Smith, Tevin Smith, LaErin Smith, Joshua Snyder, and Kyle Staples.

These honor graduates earned a cumulative grade average of at least 90 during their high school careers. Another name or two may be added after final grades are tabulated next week. Honor graduates will lead the procession of students on the field at graduation.

U.S. Presidential Gold Awards with national seals were presented to students in each grade with cumulative high school averages of 97 and above. In 12th-grade, the recipients were Katie Alling, Riley Newman, and Joshua Snyder. The 10th- graders who received Presidential Gold Awards were Haley Brannan and Joseph Kersey. In ninth-grade, the Presidential Gold Awards went to Samuel DiRito, Alicia Duke, Skyler Earnhart, Thomas Glidewell, Daniel Newman, Ashli Taylor, and Marcina Thacker.

U.S. Presidential Silver Awards were earned by students with high school cumulative averages between 93 and 97. Representing the 12th-grade were Darius Evans, Justin Farquhar, Jody Glidewell, Candice Jordan, Ashley Mathen, Brittany Norris, Morgan Shadix, Dylan Smith, and Takeesha White.

Silver Awards in the 11th-grade went to Erika Bernhardt, Kelly Brown, Aja Cooke, Daniel Martin, Chloe Thacker, and Tyler Van Dusen. The 10th-grade recipients were Tyesha Barlow, Brianna Bell, Lindsey Born, Damon Card, Sarah Clanton, Lindsay Collins, Jelinda Ellis, Erin Fountain, Alexis Giddens, Robert Green, Tammy Henderson, Jaxsen Hoffman, Brooke Holloway, Hannah Kline, Collin Moss, Kristopher Muse, Alexander Ortiz, McKenzi Smith, Rilea Stapf, Lauren Waits, and Tyler Wilhoit.

Among ninth-grade students, Presidential Silver Awards were presented to Rebekah Collins, Amelia Duke, Haley Evans, Haley Hall, Krista Hammond, Brandi Jones, Heiley Mueller, Jessica Norton, Gil Paiz, DeAnna Partin, Travis Simmons, Haley Smith, Garrison Stewart, Christopher Thurston, Abby Williams, Katherine Wilson, and Jachovian Woods.

On behalf of the local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Judy Farrigan named Brittany Norris recipient of the Good Citizenship Award and presented her a $100 U.S. Savings Bond. Mark Alling recognized the members of the school Academic team and awarded their letters and bars. They were: Katie Alling, Cameron Aly, Heath Druce, Thomas Glidewell, Jaxsen Hoffman, Ashley Johnson, Daniel Lunsford, Terence Major, Jon-Erik Jackson, Collin Moss, Justin Munson, Casey Spear, Tyler VanDusen, and Thomas Xanders.

Mathematics Department Chairperson Katie Stewart presented awards on behalf of the Mathematics Department to Katie Alling, Luke Anderson, Becky Bell, Alicia Duke, Darius Evans, Jonathan Horne, Johnny Jamerson, Riley Newman, Gil Paiz, Tessie Rairie, Lauren Waits, and Desmond Watson.

Language Arts and Foreign Language Chairperson Christa Miller named the outstanding students in her department: Katie Alling, Haley Brannan, Joseph Campbell, Aja Cooke, Skyler Earnhart, Jody Glidewell, Akiir Griffin, Kody Hood, Dixie Jones, Joseph Kersey, Daniel Martin, Ta-Mia McGruder, Brittany Miller, Collin Moss, Greg Murphy, Jessica Parks, Paulina Sheppard, Erik Sylvain,Tyler VanDusen, and Sam Williamson.

Social Studies Teacher Frank Eady presented the awards for his department to Erin Allen, Katie Alling, Haley Brannan, Veronica Camacho, Sarah Clanton, Cole Conner, Ian Cooke, Darius Evans, Alexis Giddens, Jody Glidewell, Daniel Lunsford, Gil Paiz, Sierra Parker, Morgan Phillips, Tyler VanDusen, Lauren Waits, and Catherine Whittemore.

Department Chairperson Mark Alling awarded Science Department honors to: Katie Alling, Brianna Bell, Erika Bernhardt, Amber Blackmon, Kelly Brown, Annastacya Carey, Phantasia Davis, Alicia Duke, Darius Evans, Thomas Glidewell, Kevin Johnson, Joseph Kersey, Danielle Morian, Jessica Parks, Brittany Reid, Jarvis Sheppard, McKenzi Smith, Avery Terrence, Tyler VanDusen, Lauren Waits, and Jachovian Woods.

Patrick Varallo named the following award recipients in Visual Arts: Sedric Barlow, Haley Brannan, Damon Card, Zach Cook, Mandeline Cook, Amelia Duke, Skylar Earnhart, Lisa Gibbs, Stephen Glenn, Daniel Martin, Kristin Redman, and McKenzi Smith. Some examples of their work were displayed around the Family Life Building during the Honors Program for those in attendance to enjoy.

Stephen Crocker presented awards for the Band, Handbells, Chorus and Drama programs at Jackson High School to Luke Akin, Katie Alling, Kassie Bishop, Sarah Beth Bomar, Haley Brannan, Laura Brown, Rebekah Collins, Lindsay Collins, Abbie Dougherty, J.D. Dummer, Kyle Embry, Erin Fountain, Alexis Giddens, Brad Hatcher, Steven Higginbotham, Jonathan Horne, Jerry Johnson, Candice Jordan, Hannah Kline, Melissa Lavinder, Tajia Malave, and Tiffany Schafer.

Navy ROTC awards were presented by Chief Carey Williams to Daniel Lunsford, Tevin Smith, Rilea Stapf, and Matthew Wright.

The final departmental awards were presented, by CTAE Teacher Randall Wilder for the vocational classes, to Chastity Barlow, Randi Carlyle, Cole Dickerson, Tyler Dooley, Jalinda Ellis, Darius Evans, Brandon Greggs, Jeremiah Johnson, Joseph Kersey, Daniel Martin, Heiley Mueller, Brittany Norris, Jessica Parks, Jarvis Sheppard, LaErin Smith, Lindsey Smith, Nathan Thacker, and Tyler VanDusen.