Jackson graduates chosen for scholarships

By Diane Glidewell


At the Jackson High School commencement ceremony recently, approximately 45 presentations of scholarships were made to individual graduates to assist in furthering their education after high school. JHS Principal Duane Kline said the scholarships totaled $2.6 million, the largest amount recorded for a JHS graduating class.

The Class of 2010 was the largest class ever to graduate from Jackson High School. At 207 graduates, the Class of 2010 took that distinction from the Class of 2007, which had boasted 204 graduates. In both 2008 and 2009, the number of graduating seniors was 177, and in 2006, the number was 154.

College and Career Counselor Anne Kline presented the first two scholarships, one to Tevin Smith from AABE Atlanta Chapter and one to Annastacya Carey from Agnes Scott College. Carey received the Agnes Solution and Challenge Grant, which is valued at $83,000 over four years. Anne Kline also presented an Oglethorpe University scholarship, valued at $50,000 over four years, to Justin Munson.

Danny Smith of the United States Air Force awarded an Air Force Academy Preparatory School Scholarship to Charlie Aly. It carries a value of $500,000 over five years.

JHS Athletic Director and Head Football Coach Mike Parris presented six football scholarships: Quent McKibben for Alabama State University; Mondarius Head for Fort Valley State University; Chris Head for Marshall University; Jamal Aquil for Shorter College; Kory House for University of the Cumberlands; and Neiron Ball for University of Florida.

Russ Crumbley awarded the Andy Crumbley Memorial Scholarship to Kyle Staples. Virginia Lawson announced that Takeesha White is the recipient of the Butts Men of Action Founders Scholarship and Ta-Mia McGruder is the recipient of the Lawrence and Mary Holland Scholarship.

Natalie Jones presented the Jones Petroleum Scholarship to Austin Kimbell, and Dary Myricks awarded a Broward College basketball scholarship to Yishica Sims.

Mark Alling announced the Butts County Association of Educators Scholarship goes to Keith Bell, and Debra Patterson awarded the Butts County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship to Jody Glidewell.

Melissa Lavinder received the Butts County Retired Educators Scholarship presented by Roland Lee. Amarcus Head and Norman Watts, Jr., awarded Cornelius Watts Memorial Foundation scholarships to Mondarius Head and Kory House.

Joe and Dr. Lura Blankenship presented the Daniel Jude Blankenship Promise Award scholarship to Akiir Griffin, and Jacqueline Grier presented the Dantoninic Grier Memorial scholarship to Sedric Barlow.

On behalf of the Exchange Club of Jackson, Richard Brooks presented scholarships to Emily Maddox and Kyle Staples.

Board of Education Member Linda Godin awarded Future Achievers of Butts County Scholarships to Emily Player, Stephanie Law, Kira Brokeshoulder, Kelsey Hart and Le Shannen Strickland, and awarded Jackson Lake Homeowners Scholarships to Tevin Smith, Keilandra Greer, and Jody Glidewell.

Jeff Ford announced Georgia Military College soccer scholarships to Wes Reavis and Tech DePalma, and a Reinhardt University scholarship to Gary Webb.

Jackson-Butts County Public Library Manager Don Taylor awarded the $10,000 Georgia Rural Library Initiative Teaching Scholarship to Riley Newman, and Dusty Murray awarded Gordon College Foundation scholarships to Alissa Gilbert and Riley Newman.

Roger McDaniel presented the Griffin Tech scholarship, on behalf of the Board of Commissioners, to Tenisha Jones.

JHS Softball Coaches Charlie Biles and Cathleen Eckholm announced Eboni Keith as the recipient of the JHS Diamond Club scholarship and Emily Player as the recipient of a South Georgia College softball scholarship.

Judy Williams awarded John Keye Memorial Scholarships to Yishica Sims and Eboni Keith. Debbie Bell announced Justin Munson as the recipient of the John Thomas and Maggie Spencer Fletcher Educational Scholarship.

Jennifer Stanfield and Kimberly Washington each received Middle Georgia College scholarships presented by Lauren Rankin. Santrice Jones presented the Miss Jackson High School scholarship to Jasmine Clark, and Beth Murphey awarded the Joni B. Washington Memorial Band Booster scholarship to Katie Alling.

Justin Farquhar was honored with the Partners for Smart Growth scholarship by Ed Hoard, and Belinda Thurman-Davis awarded Rev. C.F. Thurman Memorial scholarships to Cierra Crowder and Tevin Smith.

Eboni Keith and Austin Kimbell received scholarships from Joel Stokes on behalf of Saving Our Sons and Daughters Mentoring Program. April Freeman awarded Scott Crane Memorial scholarships to Jessica Roberts and Wes Nelson.

Miriam Duffey announced Haley Jamerson and Candice Jordan would receive Sylvan Grove Hospital Auxiliary Medical scholarships. James Morgan and Mozal Mayfield presented the Tri-Memorial scholarship to Ta-Mia McGruder.

Duane Kline awarded both the Piedmont Cattlemen scholarship and the Maria Stegall Memorial scholarship to Joseph Ford. He also announced Jay Glidewell would receive the Queens University of Charlotte Alumni scholarship valued at $8,000 for each of four years.

There are approximately 72 members of the JHS Class of 2010 who will be eligible for Georgia HOPE scholarships, which will pay tuition for Georgia residents who are U.S. citizens at any state college, university, or technical school for four years as long as the student maintains at least a 3.0 grade-point average.