Clayton, Henry schools vie for playground, school supplies

By Johnny Jackson


Several schools in Henry and Clayton counties have a chance to win a $25,000 playground makeover.

The prize is a part of Coca Cola's My Coke Rewards for Schools Program and its Sprite Refresh Your School Playground Sweepstakes. The promotion involves public and private K-12 schools throughout the nation, who are registered in the program.

Schools can earn points by having supporters take the codes from any of 13 different, purchased, Coca-Cola products and re-enter the codes on the My Coke Rewards web site. The points, then, go to the selected school, and for every 10 points donated, the selected school will earn one sweepstakes entry.

"The Sprite Refresh Your School Playground Sweepstakes is an easy and simple way for schools to have the chance to win a playground makeover," said Julie Bowerman, group director for digital platforms, Coca-Cola North America. "We hope that the playground will not only be a great addition for the winning school, but also be a place where [children] can be physically active and have fun."

The playground would be constructed with all-recycled materials during the school's summer break, according to Bowerman. Whoever wins the makeover will have input in how the playground will be built, and for what purpose. Sprite also will work with the winning school to remove all old playground equipment.

Registered schools that receive donated My Coke Rewards points up until April 30, will be eligible to win the $25,000 playground makeover, said Coca Cola and Sprite officials. Schools that are currently not registered in the year-round My Coke Rewards for Schools Program can register now to earn entries toward the sweepstakes.

In addition to entering the sweepstakes, schools can redeem their donated My Coke Rewards points toward classroom supplies and athletic equipment.

The following schools are already taking part in the program, and are eligible for the supplies and equipment:

* In Henry County, they are Dutchtown Elementary, Hampton Middle, Rocky Creek Elementary, Locust Grove High, Luella Elementary, Creek Side Christian Academy, Eagle's Landing Christian Academy, Flippen Elementary, Walnut Creek Elementary, Community Christian School, Cotton Indian Elementary, Fairview Elementary, North Henry Academy, Stockbridge Elementary, Stockbridge Middle, Unity Grove Elementary, Hickory Flat Elementary, Lake Dow Christian Academy, Mt. Vernon Christian School, New Creation Center, Union Grove High, and Woodland Middle.

* In Clayton County, they are Anointed Word Christian School, Charles R. Drew High, Lee Street Elementary, Morrow High, Babb Middle School, James A. Jackson Elementary, Jonesboro Middle, Lovejoy Middle, Pointe South Middle, Suder Elementary, Riverdale High, Riverdale Middle, and Sequoyah Middle.

For more details, visit the My Coke Rewards web site, at www.mycokerewards.com.