The following Henry County students were awarded the Charter Scholarship for the 2011-12 academic year, as incoming freshmen at the University of Georgia: Slade Adams, Tasia Burroughs, Hillary Konken, Judy Nguyen, Cayla Sinnemon, Ugo Ugonabo, Max Wallace, Jackson West, and Britani Zoellner. The Charter Scholarship, funded the University of Georgia Foundation, provides $1,000 per year, in addition to the HOPE Scholarship, to Georgia high school graduates with stellar academic records, leadership and community involvement.

Lewis receives congressional education scholarship

Henry County's Kwardel Lewis, a graduate of Woodland High School and a student at the University of Georgia, was among ten students in Georgia's 13th Congressional District to be awarded education scholarships through Rep. David Scott (D-Ga.) and his wife, Alfredia Scott.

Locals earn Gordon College academic honors

The following students from Henry County were named to the Dean's List at Gordon College for the Summer Semester 2011: April Gladish, Alyssa Hartfield, Nick Wilson, Shanty Domenech, Samantha Watt, Brittany Adams, Brandace Brown, Brittany Stone, Annamarie Ceravolo, Dorothy Dinino, Kayla Mewborn, and Katie Cole. Gordon's Dean's Merit List for Summer Semester 2011 includes: Jennifer Holcomb, Tiffany Hunter, Christy Hunter, Emmitt Pharr, and Heather Thompson.

Southern Crescent Tech announces President's List

Southern Crescent Technical College recently announced its Spring Quarter President's List. The following students are included: Maliscia Alexander, Tonia Alford, Marvin Allen, Ricky Allen, David Andrews, Clara Arnette, Alfred Barnes, Brian Barnes, Lisa Barnett, Jeffrey Barrett, Barbara Bayless, Bethany Berkow, Jermaine Bigelow, Tristin Blackburn, Tyler Blaisdell, Tammy Boyd, Celesha Butler, Meredith Butler, Vinson Butler, Patice Campbell, Eric Cannon, Robert Cauvel, Rebecca Chapman, Mark Covington, Shatara Cox, Vickie Cox, Desiree Daniels, Timothy Darnell, Stacie Davis, Hyacinth Dyer, Taylor English , Jennifer Fatal, Donald Fleming, Jr., Angela Ford, Royce Guin, James Hall, Angela Head, Blake Hersey, Leslie Hinton Howell, Jacklyn Hoare, Stacey Hudgens-Wallace, Joshua Hull, Lee Joassin, Ashley Johnson, Randolph Jones, Robert Jones, Asma Khawaja, Forrest King, Ruth Kirby, Giselle Knight, Donna Lemons, Melvin Lewis, Stephanie Lewis, Kayla Linginfelter, Larry Lott, Michael McKinley, Anthony Medbery, Jeremy Miller, Theresa Minter, Charmaine Moore, Roberta Morella, Paul Myers, Evelyn Nettles, Amy Newmon, NgocBich Nguyen, Sabina Nichols, Tammy Nichols, Jerry Pabon, Rodnie Philpot, James Reeves, Millicent Robinson, John Rogers, Joseph Savery, Joshua Shears, Genevieve Shivers, Sean Simmons, Benjamin Slate, Carlos Sloan, Katherine Smith, Sara Spanoudis, Wendy Stanford, Tiaira Starks, Edwin Steil, Rebecca Stephenson, Delroy Sullivan, Ryan Sweat, Candice Taylor, James Thomas, Lacey Thomas, Richard Threadgill, Justice Turpin, Kristi Wallace, Ashley Walls, Laurie Walters, Russell Ward, Michelle Weaver, Quintina Webb, Shannon Windle, Kioma Young, and Armando Zamora. To be named to the President's List, a student must be enrolled full-time and maintain a perfect grade point average of 4.0.

Exchange student families sought

The non-profit Center for Cultural Interchange's Academic Year Program is seeking volunteer host families for foreign exchange students for the 2011-12 school year. Host family applications are being accepted now through Aug. 15. For more information, visit http://www.cci-excha, or call 800-634-4771.

Holmes townhall on education, Aug. 27

Henry County's District V Commissioner Bruce Holmes will hold his monthly Town Hall Meeting on Saturday, Aug. 27, at 9 a.m. The meeting, which is open to the public, will be held at the Fairview Recreation Center, located at 35 Austin Road, in Stockbridge.

Notice about students with disabilities

If you or your child withdrew, or graduated, from Henry County Schools between July 1, 2005, and June 30, 2006, be advised that individual Special Education Records will be destroyed after Sept. 15, 2011. If you want a copy of these records, call (770) 957-8086. The Henry County Board of Education is required to keep special education records as long as they are needed for educational purposes. When these records are no longer needed, the Board must inform the student and/or parent(s) of its plan to destroy such records.

This is to provide notice to all students or parents of students with disabilities, who left Henry County Schools between July 1, 2005, and June 30, 2006, and are no longer enrolled in the Henry County Schools, that all special education records for those students will be destroyed after Sept. 15, 2011, unless you request the records. If you have questions, call (770) 957-8086.

Military notes

Navy Seaman Damon Sapp, brother of Sade Lambright, of Hampton, recently completed U.S. Navy basic training at Recruit Training Command in Great Lakes, Ill.

School Notebook publishes on Wednesdays. Make submissions to Johnny Jackson via e-mail at jjackson@henryherald.com, or call (770) 957-9161.