Whitley rewarded for Tigers' turn around

For leading Stockbridge to the state playoffs for the first time in 27 years, Tigers coach Kevin Whitley was named coach of the year in Region 4-AAA as selected the region's eight coaches.

Whitley orchestrated a four-win turnaround from 2009, his first with Stockbridge after six seasons at Creekside, to 2010, as the Tigers went 6-4 and finished fourth in the region. Stockbridge lost 49-0 to Peach County in the Class AAA first round.

Sandy Creek quarterback Ronnie Bell was named offensive player of the year, while Eastside's Jerrell Crowder and Sandy Creek's Jamal Ware were co-defensive players of the year.

The Tigers also had three players on the first team: athlete Marcellas Pope, defensive tackle Harrison Hilton and linebacker Jayshun Allen.

Henry County had five players on the first team, the most of any Southern Crescent. Four Warhawks made the first team offense: Fullback Josh Couch, wide receiver Stephon Brown, center BobTaylor and tackle Tyler Penney. Joining them on the first team offense was Eagle's Landing tight end Bill Teknipp.

Dalvin Tomlinson was the lone Warhawks player to make the first team defense. Joining Tomlinson, Hilton and Allen on the first team defense was Eagle's Landing quarterback Tyler Teknipp, who made the team as a punter.

All-Region 4-AAA team

Offensive Player of the Year: Ronnie Bell, Sandy Creek

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Jerrell Crowder, Eastside; Jamal Ware, Sandy Creek

Coach of the Year: Kevin Whitley, Stockbridge


First team

Pos. Player School

QB Califf Carnes Eastside

RB Derrick Alexander Sandy Creek

FB Josh Couch Henry County

WR Stephon Brown Henry County

WR Alex Chisum Sandy Creek

WR Dee Williams Jackson

TE Bill Teknipp Eagle's Landing

OT Will Adams Sandy Creek

OT Tyler Penney Henry County

OG Chris Whitlock Sandy Creek

OG Alex Whitlock Sandy Creek

C BobTaylor Henry County

ATH Marcellas Pope Stockbridge

K Mitchell McMillin Sandy Creek

Second team

Pos. Player School

QB Chris Moody Henry County

RB Alex Smith Eastside

FB Dusty Parris Jackson

WR Donte Blackmon Eastside

WR Alderien Bryant Eagle's Landing

WR Ronnie Owens Eastside

TE Brandon Brydsong Sandy Creek

OT Andrew Heilsen Eastside

OT Alan Knott Sandy Creek

OG Shawayne Lawrence Eagle's Landing

OG Lincoln Temple Eastside

C Dion Coleman Locust Grove

ATH Marciano Allen Jackson

K Cody Sadley Eastside


First team

Pos. Player School

DL Harrison Hilton Stockbridge

DL Shaquille Huff Eastside

DE Sheldon Rakins Eastside

DE Gavin Rocker Eastside

DE Dalvin Tomlinson Henry County

LB Jayshun Allen Stockbridge

LB Kevis Bell Eastside

LB Xavier Chisom Sandy Creek

LB DeAndre Ellis Jackson

CB Bruce Dukes Sandy Creek

CB Corey Ridley Jackson

S Mike Hilton Sandy Creek

P Tyler Teknipp Eagle's Landing

Second team

Pos. Player School

DL Rashaad Coleman Drew

DL Montae Williams Spalding

DE Josh Henderson Jackson

DE Jamarcus Vaughn Drew

LB Keldrick Griffin Eagle's Landing

LB Chaz Johnston Sandy Creek

LB Blake Rouse Eastside

LB Bryan Thomas Henry County

LB Ryan Thomas Henry Coutny

CB Terrance Glover Henry County

CB Bradley Street Drew

S Gabe Austin Eagle's Landing

P Damon Card Jackson