Several students from Henry County were awarded scholarships to attend Gordon College. The David Bishop Scholarship recipients: are Jarvis Stephens and Sarah Starr.

Crystal Hanley received the Charles and Carolyn Connell Nursing Scholarship.

The W.L. "Luther" Jones Scholarship recipients are: April Gladish and Nikolai Watson. The Hightower Family Scholarship recipients are: Danielle Baggett, Bridget Chappell, and Darshan Shroff.

DeAnna Acree earned the Mr. & Mrs. W.C. Byrd General Scholarship. Ariel Elion won the Robert and Caroline Lombardo Scholarship; Brittany Roper earned the Laura Joy Ellis Memorial Nursing Scholarship; and Kathleeen Chumbley was named a Charles B. Jenkins Business Scholarship recipient, while the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Scholarship went to Issac Fenwick.

Samantha Watt received the Miss Marion Bush Scholarship. Meghan Register won the Virginia Pollack Memorial Nursing Scholarship. Kayla Mewborn received the Joel and Sara Edwards Memorial Scholarship. Megan Gary was awarded the Jennifer Kressaty Memorial Nursing Scholarship. Shaun Simpson received the Gordon Alumni Scholarship. Also, Rachael Wooley and Stephanie Cox won the Thom E. Johnson Memorial Scholarship, and the F&M Bank-Trip Griffin Memorial Scholarship, respectively.

Exchange student program seeks host families

ASSE International Student Exchange Programs is seeking local families to host international boys and girls between the ages of 15 and 18.

The exchange students are selected for the program based on academics. They arrive with pocket money for personal expenses and full health, accident, and liability insurance. To learn more about becoming a host family, or being involved with ASSE, call the Southern Regional Office at 1 (800) 473-0696.

School Notebook publishes on Wednesdays. Make submissions , or call (770) 957-9161.