Many qualify to seek offices in Clayton cities

Forty-four people signed up this week to run for elected offices, including mayoral seats and city council positions, in Clayton County’s seven cities, according to election registration officials in the towns.

With 24 elected seats scheduled to be on municipal ballots this year, each city has at least one seat being contested by candidates who qualified this past week. Those seats include six mayoral seats, and 18 city council posts. The municipal elections are scheduled to be held Nov. 8 in each city.

The City of Jonesboro will field the largest total group of candidates, with 12 people signing up to seek public office in Clayton’s county seat. In a re-match from 2007’s city elections, incumbent Mayor Luther Maddox will face his predecessor, former mayor, Joy Day, as well as city resident, John Templeman.

Meanwhile, nine people have signed up to run for the three at-large Jonesboro City Council seats that are up for grabs this year.

Incumbent City Councilmembers Bobby Wiggins, Roger Grider and Wallace Norrington each qualified to run for re-election. But they will be challenged by former city council members, Billy Powell and Rick Yonce, as well as real estate broker Randy Segner, retiree Jack Bruce, Suzanne Igler, and Wayne Day (not related to Joy Day; his wife, Cindy Day, was named Ms. Georgia Senior America in 2010).

Among the mayoral races, only one — in Morrow — will not include an incumbent. Morrow Mayor Jim Millirons announced earlier this week that he plans to step down from elected office on Dec. 31, after several decades in public life. Hotel manager Joseph “J.B.” Burke, and avionics technician Jeffrey Allen DeTar are running to succeed Millirons in what will be Morrow’s only contested race this year.

Morrow City Clerk Evyonne Browning said incumbent City Councilperson Jeanell Bridges, and U.S. government Senior Construction Analyst Larry W. Ferguson were the only candidates to qualify to run for the town’s two city council seats. As a result, Browning said, they are unofficially considered to be elected, unless they are challenged by write-in candidates in November.

Ferguson would replace City Councilmember Mason Barfield, who recently announced he will also retire from his job as Clayton State University’s athletic director in October and move back to his hometown of Hihira, Ga.

Incumbent Riverdale City Councilman Kenny Ruffin, incumbent College Park City Councilman Ambrose Clay, incumbent Forest Park City Councilmember Maudie McCord and incumbent Lovejoy City Councilmembers Marci Fluellyn, Rebekah Holland Wright, and Robert “Bobby” Cartwright are running unopposed for re-election.

No one signed up to run against incumbent Lake City Mayor Willie Oswalt, and incumbent Lovejoy Mayor Joe Murphy. Incumbent Riverdale Mayor Evelyn Wynn-Dixon is facing an election challenge from Alton F. Jones, but Riverdale City Clerk Stephanie Thomas said the city is having difficulties verifying Jones’ residency.

The full list of candidates, who signed up to run for city elections this week, includes:

College Park

Mayoral candidates: Jack Patterson Longino (incumbent), and Roderick Gay, non-profit director.

City Council Ward 1 candidates: Ambrose W. Clay (incumbent).

City Council Ward 3 candidates: Tracey Wyatt (incumbent), and Wesley Meadows, lawyer.

Forest Park

City Council Ward 3 candidates: Maudie McCord (incumbent).

City Council Ward 4 candidates: Donald Judson (incumbent); Latresa S. Akins, homemaker; Lillian Holloway, housewife, and Heidi Wylesky, homemaker.

City Council Ward 5 candidates: Linda Lord (incumbent), and Warren Gerton, team leader.


Mayoral candidates: Luther Maddox (incumbent), retiree; Joy Day, retired school principal, and John Templeman ( occupation information not available from city).

At-Large City Council candidates: Roger Grider (incumbent); Wallace Norrington (incumbent); Robert “Bobby” Wiggins (incumbent); retiree Jack Bruce; Wayne Day, (occupation information not available from city); Suzanne Igler, (information not available from city); William “Billy” Powell, retired business owner; Randolph Segner, real estate broker; and Rick Yonce, retired airline worker.

Lake City

Mayoral candidate: Willie R. Oswalt (incumbent).

At-Large City Council candidates: Bobby L. Williams (incumbent), retiree; Dwight K. Ginn (incumbent), retiree; Raymond O. Johnson, cleaning business president, and Aric Walker (information not available from city).


Mayoral candidate: Joseph Luther Murphy (incumbent), Jr., electrician.

City Council Post 1 candidates: Tommy Green, III, (incumbent), labor relations director, and LaToshia Rochel Gray, program analyst.

City Council Post 2 candidates: Marci Fluellyn (incumbent), manufacturing supply chain manager.

City Council Post 3 candidates: Rebekah Holland Wright (incumbent), system administrator.

City Council Post 4 candidates: Robert “Bobby” Cartwright (incumbent), business owner.


Mayoral candidates: Jeffrey Allen DeTar, avionics technician, and Joseph “J.B.” Burke, hotel general manager.

At-Large City Council candidates: Jeanell Bridges, retiree, and Larry W. Ferguson, U.S. government senior construction analyst.


Mayoral candidates: Evelyn Wynn-Dixon (incumbent), and Alton F. Jones (information not available from city).

City Council Ward 2 candidates: Wayne Hall (incumbent), doctoral student, and An’Cel Davis (information not available from city).

City Council Ward 4 candidates: Kenny Ruffin (incumbent), computer engineer.