Morrow wrestling county’s best at South Metro

South Metro

Team results

1 Locust Grove 257.5

2 Woodward Academy 213.0

3 Rockdale 205.5

4 Whitewater 187.5

5 Ola 184.5

17 Morrow 56.0

18 Jonesboro 50.0

19 Forest Park 46.0

22 Mundy's Mill 42.0

29 Mount Zion 10.0

Local titlists

106 — Omar McFarlin, Ola

120 — Monye Tucker, Locust Grove

126 — Griffin Higginbotham, Union Grove

145 — Brandon Benson, Locust Grove

195 — Joseph Farrell, Locust Grove

220 — Tyler Rapes, Locust Grove

JONESBORO — Morrow wrestling finished as the top county team at the 41st South Metro tournament at Mount Zion on Saturday.

The Mustangs finished 17th out of more than 30 teams led by Dequavius Lewis (145) and Orlando Kinsey (195), who both placed fifth in their respective weight classes.

Morrow was just ahead of Jonesboro, who finished in 18th with 50 points. Forest Park was right behind in 19th with 48 points. Mundy’s Mill (22nd) and Mount Zion (29th) rounded out the Clayton teams.

“It’s a great experience,” Morrow coach Maso Moon said. “You have one of the oldest tournaments in the state of Georgia. Year in and year out the kids who have placed and won the South Metro have done well on the state level.”

That’s good news for Jonesboro’s Jalaal Malik, who placed second at 120 pounds, and Calvin Coleman, who placed third at 126. Forest Park’s Anthony Vasta placed sixth at 106.

The weekend made for another learning experience for local teams. The South Metro has long been established as an early-season barometer for state contenders.

Morrow already knew it could compete on the county level. The Mustangs finished second at the county meet.

But Moon said his team is still trying to get acclimated to a new classification (AAAAAA) and region (Region 2).

“We’re young,” Moon said. “We’re seeing a lot of people that we haven’t seen before. Our goal is to place as many kids at sectionals to state as we can.”

Locust Grove won the tournament with 257.5 points, well ahead of runner-up Woodward Academy. The Wildcats placed 10 wrestlers and put seven in the finals, winning four.