ELCA fills up all-region 5-A postseason awards

Keyante Green picked up another post-season accolade in a career that’s been full of them.

The senior running back was selected Region 5-A player of the year by the region’s coaches even before he rushed for 84 yards and two touchdowns on 12 carries in the Chargers’ 33-0 victory over Prince Avenue Christian in the Class A private school championship on Friday.

Green’s teammate and fellow senior Isaac Rochell was named defensive player of the year, while ELCA’s Jonathan Gess was selected coach of the year.

Green had his third 1,000-yard rushing season of his high school career. The 5-foot-9, 195-pounder who is committed to Purdue finished with 1,287 yards and 19 touchdowns on 115 carries while missing four total games between the regular season and playoffs because of injuries.

Rochell’s season was effected by injuries, too, when he broke his hand in the Chargers’ second game of the season against Briarwood Christian (Ala.). But the senior defensive lineman who is committed to Notre Dame returned and resumed his regular dominant play, entering Friday’s state championship with 41 tackles and three sacks.

Gess helped ELCA take the final step after disappointing losses in the semifinals, quarterfinals and second round the past three seasons, respectively. The Chargers were particularly dominant in region play, going 6-0 and out-scoring opponents 320-9.

ELCA led all teams with nine players selected to the first team. Quarterback Dalton Etheridge, wide receiver Marquis Griffin and offensive lineman Jake Martin were named to the first-team offense, while defensive backs D.J. Curl and Jevius Terry, linebackers Bryson Durden and Josh Shockley and defensive linemen Andreus Holley and Andrew Williams were named to the first-team defense.

Strong Rock offensive lineman Peyton Johnson and defensive back Zach Moss were also named to the first team.

5-A All-Region

Player of the year: Keyante Green, ELCA, Sr.

Offensive player of the year: Jeremiah Kirkland, Landmark Christian, Jr.

Defensive player of the year: Isaac Rochell, ELCA, Sr.

Lineman of the year: Reed McGuire, Landmark Christian, Sr.

Special teams player of the year: Rashard Fant, Our Lady of Mercy, Sr.

Coaches award: Chauncey Laboo, Our Lady of Mercy, Sr.

Coach of the year: Jonathan Gess, ELCA

First-team offense

QB - Dalton Etheridge, ELCA, Jr.

QB - Elijah Burnette, Mt. Vernon, Jr.

RB - Clay Pfohl, Holy Innocents', Jr.

WR - Josh Nobles, Landmark Christian, Sr.

WR - Kameron Uter, Pace Academy, Sr.

WR - Marquis Griffin, ELCA, Sr.

OL - Matthew Frank, Our Lady of Mercy, Sr.

OL - Grant Gosden, Holy Innocents', Sr.

OL - JonPaul Reid, Landmark Christian, Sr.

OL - Peyton Johnson, Strong Rock, Sr.

OL - Jake Martin, ELCA, Sr.

ATH - Kevin Johnson, Pace Academy, So.

First-team defense

DL - Andrew Williams, ELCA, Jr.

DL - Andreus Holley, ELCA, Sr.

DL - Jacob Cobb, Landmark Christian, Sr.

DL - Lynix Branch, Our Lady of Mercy, Jr.

LB - Josh Shockley, ELCA, Sr.

LB - Bryson Durden, ELCA, Jr.

LB - William Higbie, Landmark Christian, Jr.

DB - Jason Grimes, Holy Innocents', Sr.

DB - Denzel Franklin, Pace Academy, Jr.

DB - DJ Curl, Eagle's Landing Christian, Sr.

DB - Jevius Terry, ELCA, Sr.

DB - Cole Higbie, Landmark Christian, Sr.

DB - Zach Moss, Strong Rock, Sr.