Wortham, Person named POY in region

Photo by Derrick Mahone
Drew's Precious Person (left) and Eric Wortham of Eagle's Landing were named the players of the year in Region 4-AAA.

Photo by Derrick Mahone Drew's Precious Person (left) and Eric Wortham of Eagle's Landing were named the players of the year in Region 4-AAA.

Players from the Southern Crescent dominated the All-Region 4-AAA basketball teams that were picked by the region’s nine coaches.

Eagle’s Landing junior Eric Wortham and Precious Person of Drew, a senior, were named the region’s top players.

In all, 11 boys players from the area helped fill the 17 spots on the all-region team while nine of the 15 girls spots were taken by local talent.

Both Wortham and Person led their teams to the top spots in the region standings this season. The 6-foot-4 Wortham averages 16 points per game for the Golden Eagles, who are ranked No. 2 in the state heading into the start of the region tournament today.

Person, a 6-2 guard/forward, signed in November to play at Rutgers. She is the first player in the school’s three-year history to get a region player-of-the-year honor. Being first is nothing new to Person, who in November, became the first athlete at the school to sign a college scholarship.

Eagle’s Landing coach Clay Crump said he wasn’t surprised that Wortham, who has several college offers, was chosen the region’s top player.

“Eric was an unanimous choice by all the coaches in the region,” Crump said. “He is a good rebounder and he is our second point guard. When we need a basket, we usually look for Eric. He has really made me a better coach.”

Wortham is joined on the first team by teammates Isaiah Dennis and Desmond Ringer, another pair of juniors. Eagle’s Landing is the defending region champion.

Also named to the first team was Dre Soulder, a 6-6 senior center at Henry County, and Trevin Joseph of Stockbridge.

Rounding out the first team is Ben Miller of Eastside, the only senior to make the first team.

Drew dominated the second team with three seniors in Eloka Olisa, Rufus Brown and Derrick Frye. Zavier Rosser of Henry County and Ladarian Spivey of Jackson were also named to the second team.

On the girls’ side, Kiera Henderson of Drew and Deborah Hoe of Stockbridge were named to the first team alone with Kadesha Matthews of Spalding, Eastside’s Alexia Somerset and SaFiya Martin of Sandy Creek.

Sophomore Lakiah Sims of Drew and junior Sabiyah Broderick of Locust Grove were named to the second team.



Player of the Year: Precious Person, Drew

First team: Kiera Henderson, Drew; Deborah Hoe, Stockbridge; Kadesha Matthews, Spalding; Alexia Somerset, Eastside; SaFiya Martin, Sandy Creek.

Second team: Ariel Parker, Sandy Creek; Latera Greier, Jackson; Jazzmine Cook, Eastside; Sabiyah Broderick, Locust Grove; Lakiah Sims, Drew.

Honorable mention: Makalah Joseph, Eagle’s Landing; Kiana Coleman, Henry County; Jecoya Knawls, Drew; Taylor Cistrunk, Henry County; Taylor Delasbar, Locust Grove.


Player of the Year: Eric Wortham, Eagle’s Landing

First team: Ben Miller, Eastside; Trevin Joseph, Stockbridge; Dre Soulder, Henry County; Isaiah Dennis, Eagle’s Landing; Desmond Ringer, Eagle’s Landing.

Second team: Ladarian Spivey, Jackson; Eloka Olisa, Drew; Rufus Brown, Drew; Derrick Frye, Drew; Zavier Rosser, Henry County.

Honorable mention: Barry Mayes, Drew; Terence Brittian, Spalding; Quindarrious Russell, Eastside; Jequarrian Berry, Spalding.