Clayton voters hit the polls Tuesday

JONESBORO — Clayton County residents will have a clearer picture of who will lead them for the next four years next week.

The state primary election will be held Tuesday with several county-level elected offices appearing on the ballot. All of the candidates running county-level offices on the ballot, however, are Democrats.

Elections officials were hopeful voters would take advantage of early voting. According to the latest figures from the Clayton County Elections and Registration, 6,019 voters have cast ballots since early voting began several weeks ago. With 150,399 registered voters in Clayton, this means .040 percent have already made their choices.

There are 15 contested races appearing on county ballots Tuesday, including U.S. House of Representatives District 5; State Senate District 44; State House of Representatives Districts 60, 63, 74, 75, 76, 77 and 78; Clayton County Commission chairman and Commission districts 2 and 3; district attorney and sheriff.

U.S. House of Representatives District 13 has a challenger from both major parties. Candidates for the offices of state senator District 34; solicitor general; tax commissioner; clerk of superior court; chief magistrate; probate court judge; state court judge and superior court judge are running unopposed.

The ballot will also include the vote on the controversial T-SPLOST referendum. Voters will decide whether they should pay a 1-cent sales tax to fund transportation projects across a 10-county area in metro Atlanta.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. and voters can log onto their “My Voter Page,” at the Georgia Secretary of State’s elections division website, www.sos.ga.gov/elections/, to find their voting precinct and polling location. There are 58 voting precincts in Clayton County.

Clayton County elections officials have announced a change for one polling location, though. Precinct JB17, which is normally at Pointe South Elementary School, will move across the street to Pointe South Middle School at 8495 Thomas Road in Jonesboro just for this election.

Pointe South Middle School is also the site of Precinct JB1 and will serve as a dual voting site for both precincts. Polling sites for the two precincts will be located in separate areas of the school building.

The one-time change was made because of renovation work taking place at Pointe South Elementary School, said election officials.

Candidates for contested races appearing on ballots are:

• U.S. House of Representatives District 5 (Democratic primary) — John Lewis (Incumbent), 72, U.S. Representative; Michael Johnson, 43, former Fulton County Superior Court judge.

• State Senator District 44 (Democratic primary) — Gail Davenport (Incumbent), 63, realtor; Gail Buckner, 61, communications marketing/former state legislator; Marcus E. Davis, 39, minister.

• State House of Representatives District 60 (Democratic primary) — Keisha Sean Waites (incumbent), 39, emergency manager; William Fisher, 45, investment banker; Antonio Lewis, 25, consultant; LaTrenka R. Riley, 50, business owner.

• State House District 63 (Democratic primary) — T.J. Copeland, 31, teacher, Fulton County Schools; Ronald Mabra, 34, attorney; Linda Pritchett, 42, paralegal.

• State House District 74 (Democratic primary) — Charles Davis, 63, Retired Atlanta Public Schools teacher; Valencia Stovall, 42, owner, Stovall Enterprises.

• State House District 75 (Democratic primary) — Yasmin Neal (incumbent), 27, Clayton County police officer; Mike Glanton, 54, minister.

• State House District 76 (Democratic primary) — Sandra Scott (incumbent), 50, educator; Jeffery Benoit, 53, retiree; Kim Cox Owens, 38, real estate broker.

• State House District 77 (Democratic primary) — Darryl Jordan (incumbent), 57, retired educator; Kevin Thomas, 46, College Park firefighter/paramedic.

• State House District 78 (Democratic primary) — Glenn Baker (incumbent), 65, retired Georgia Power employee; Demetrius Douglas, 44, real estate wholesaler.

• County Commission Chairman (Democratic primary) — Eldrin Bell (incumbent), 76, County Commission chairman; Roberta Abdul-Salaam, 56, community advocate/state representative; Jeff Turner, 48, educator, ITT Technical Institute

• Commission District 2 (Democratic primary) — Gail Hambrick (incumbent), 62, county commissioner; Thomas Houston, 34, brand manager, Richards Group; Lisa Tinch, community advocate.

• Commission District 3 (Democratic primary) — Wole Ralph (incumbent), 34, county commissioner; Ronald Ringer, 56; Shana Rooks, 37, attorney.

• Sheriff (Democratic primary) — Kem Kimbrough (incumbent), 40, sheriff; Jon Antoine, 40, investigator, Clayton County District Attorney’s Office; Tina Daniel, 46, lieutenant, Clayton County Police Department; Lawrence Etheridge, 44, interim Criminal Justice Program chairman, Everest Institute; Victor Hill, 47, former Clayton County sheriff; Godreque “Dreq” Newsom, 42, entrepreneur/former Clayton County sheriff’s lieutenant; Ricky Redding, 46, former Clayton County sheriff’s deputy; Rica Wright, former Clayton County sheriff’s deputy.

• District Attorney (Democratic primary) — Tracy Graham Lawson (incumbent), 53, Clayton County district attorney; Leslie Miller Terry, 52, assistant district attorney, DeKalb County.


MD 3 years, 2 months ago

Any truth to the rumor that the feds are watching the polls, and absentee ballots here for fraud?


OscarKnight 3 years, 2 months ago

...Riddle Me with this :

....Are we expected to form a Government from these choices ???


OscarKnight 3 years, 2 months ago

........We would be better off by requesting this County Government to be abolished ; This is shameful !!!!

....I only see one Candidate worth voting for.; All of the rest is from Evil to the most Evil choices.

....Honey; Begin Packing !!!!!!


OscarKnight 3 years, 2 months ago

....Has anyone ever had the feeling that you was being forced fed in the voting booth ?

....This is the living proof how far this county as plunged into depths of the dysfunctional pit.


Sign in to comment