Six CCPS teachers named TOTY finalists

JONESBORO — Dr. Gloria Duncan, Coordinator of Professional Learning for Clayton County Public Schools, is announcing six finalists for the 2013 Clayton County Public Schools Teacher of the Year. One finalist will be honored as Teacher of the Year at the annual recognition at 7 p.m. Jan. 17, at the Performing Arts Center.

The candidates were visited at their schools by Duncan and the District's Teacher of the Year (TOTY) Patrol. Each was presented a congratulatory balloon and a bouquet of flowers as the news was announced in their classrooms in front of applauding students.

The finalists were chosen from nearly 30 applicants vying for the honor. A panel of former teachers of the year, and district and community leaders selected the six finalists after a lengthy process of scrutinizing applications and intensive interviews.

The candidates for the county's 2013 best are Cynthia Hathaway, kindergarten teacher, Swint Elementary; Regina Evans, math teacher, Riverdale Middle; Sharon Callier, science teacher, Sequoyah Middle; Pamela Smith, language arts teacher, Mundy's Mill Middle; Shekema Silveri, advanced placement literature teacher, Mount Zion High; and Tracy Larson, media specialist, Arnold Elementary.

“The talent level of our Teacher of the Year finalists is exceptional,” Dr. Duncan said. “As we went from school to school, it was amazing to hear the unrehearsed testimonials of students as they spoke about their teachers, saying things like their class being a safe place for learning and how they left each day feeling challenged, inspired to learn more, and knowing something that they did not know the day before.

“All of us were moved and knew that we were in great company. We salute all of the teachers who were selected to represent their schools this year.”

The TOTY Patrol will make another district crossing Tuesday, Oct. 23, to name the Principal of the Year, the Support Leader of the Year and the Support Professional of the Year for the district level.