Jorgensen close to national racing title

File photo
Myatt Snider of Charlotte, N.C., won the Semi-Pro division race this weekend at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

File photo Myatt Snider of Charlotte, N.C., won the Semi-Pro division race this weekend at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Several familiar names sat atop the leaderboard at last weekend’s Off-Season Legends Race and Legends Invitational at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Stockbridge native Taylor Jorgensen picked up a milestone win as she got tuned up for this weekend’s Bandolero Nationals in Alabama. Jorgensen held off her brother, Jensen, for her 20th career win.

This past summer at the 10-week Thursday Thunder racing series, Taylor Jorgensen won the points title with nine wins. Her only loss came against Jensen.

“It’s a pretty special win, I had a bunch of family there, and it was a pretty big deal,” Jorgensen said. “This has been a really, really great season. We got the nine wins during Thursday Thunder and Jensen got the other, so the Jorgensens swept Thursday Thunder. I’ve had wins all over the southeast. This has definitely been my best year so far. We already have some offers of people looking for rides next year with sponsorship and, people wanting me to drive their cars.”

Jorgensen’s next order of business is pursuing a national title when she takes to the track at Sunny South Raceway in Grand Bay, Ala. this weekend.

The Nationals are about 25-30 laps, and Jorgensen knows she will get some competition from Seth Warner, who is also close to his 21st win of the season.

“I’ve been going over and over my game plan,” Jorgensen said. “I’m going to stay calm, cool and collected. Make smart moves, smart passes, don’t overdrive it. I want my car there at the end of the race to beat Seth and go for the win.”

After last weekend’s racing, AMS held its Thursday Thunder awards banquet for this past season. The special winners included: Most Improved Driver — Riley Thornton; Bandolero Rookie of the Year — Eli Bailey; Legends Rookie of the Year — Jay Coen; Top Dog of the Year — Amber Fleeman; Family Award — Massey Family; Joey Logano Breakthrough Driver of the Year — Chandler Smith; Reed Sorenson Most Popular Driver — Evan Bell; David Ragan Sportsman of the Year — Christopher Clanton; President’s Award — Doug Stevens.

Smith won the Bandolero Invitational last weekend with Stevens taking the Legends Invitational.

Other winners included Taylor Jorgensen (Outlaws), Stevens (Pro), Brian Weimer (Masters), Joshua Hicks (Bandits), Myatt Snider (Semi-Pro), and Joey Padgett (Young Lions).