Michael B. King Spelling, Legal Bee set Dec. 21

School Notebook 12-06-13

MORROW — The public is invited to attend the 2013 Michael B. King Spelling and Legal Bee will be held Saturday, Dec. 21 at Freedom Christian Center, 6928 Commercial Drive in Morrow. The spelling contest begins at 9 a.m.

The Spelling Legal-Bee was created by Jonesboro attorney Michael King, a former grade school teacher in Atlanta. King believes the Legal-Bee is the only legal spelling contest for grade school students in the United States. The first Spelling Legal-Bee was held in December 2001 with 16 students participating in the contest. In December 2011, more than 80 students participated in the Spelling Legal-Bee.

King anticipates more than 50 students will participate in the 2013 Spelling Legal-Bee. The deadline for submitting registration forms is Thursday, Dec. 19. There is no registration fee.

The top spellers in the elementary school division (grades 4-6) and middle school division (grades 7-9) will receive $150 and trophies. The second through seventh place spellers will receive trophies and $100, $75, $50, $25, $15 and $5, respectively. All participants will receive T-shirts and certificates.

Clayton State establishes Dean’s Advisory Board

The College of Arts and Sciences at Clayton State University has established its first Dean’s Advisory Board.

Dean Dr. Nasser Momayezi said the board is comprised of prominent members of the community as well as Clayton State faculty emeritus from the College of Arts and Sciences.

“This is a leadership board that serves as champions of the college’s direction and assists in securing financial resources needed to achieve its long-range academic goals,” said Momayezi. “The board has met several times and has developed a clear mission to assist the dean and the leadership of the school to enact vision and values in the lives of the undergraduate and graduate students at Clayton State University.”

Chairing the Dean’s Advisory Board is former state senator and state representative Gail Buckner, one of the College of Arts & Sciences most distinguished alumni, and one who already has a long history of service to Clayton State and the state of Georgia.

Buckner of Jonesboro graduated from Clayton State in 1977 with an associate’s degree in education. She later earned a bachelor’s degree in integrative studies from Clayton State. She was named Clayton State’s first Alumnus of the Year in 2002 and served as the university’s Commencement speaker in December 2003 — the first time an alumnus of Clayton State had served as the Commencement speaker.

“In 1969, when Clayton State welcomed its first students to study at our campus, there was great excitement in our community,” Buckner said. “That same sense of pride and respect continues today because Clayton State continues to distinguish itself as a premier institution for higher learning.

“As a graduate of the College of Arts and Sciences, I am honored to chair the Dean’s Advisory Board, and I look forward to sharing Clayton State’s journey of excellence with not only our community, but also the world,” she continued.

Serving as vice chair of the Dean’s Advisory Board is Dr. Eugene Hatfield, professor emeritus of history, and one of the seminal faculty members in Clayton State’s progression from a junior college to a university, and the first director of the university’s Honors Program. Continuing to take an active role in the university he served for more than 30 years, Hatfield is also president of the Clayton State Retirees Association.

“I had the privilege of teaching some excellent students while I was at Clayton State,” said Hatfield. “I know that like my students then, many of our current students have challenges to overcome in gaining a college education. I think this organization will help encourage them in their efforts and recognize their achievements. I look forward to being a part of it.

“I have known most of the members of the Dean’s group for many years,” he continued. “I look forward to working with them and Dean Momayezi in our efforts to assist students in the College of Arts & Sciences.”

State Rep. Valencia Stovall of District 74 (D-Ellenwood) serves as the treasurer of the Dean’s Advisory Board, and Henry County State Court Judge Jason T. Harper serves as secretary.

Other Dean’s Advisory Board members include retired Clayton State faculty members Dr. Elliott McElroy, Dr. Brad Rice, Dr. Joseph Trachtenberg and Dr. John Kohler.

Public officials also serving on the board include Republican state Sen. Rick Jeffares of District 17, Democratic state Rep. Mike Glanton of District 75, Chief Judge Steven Teske of the Clayton County Juvenile Court and Forest Park Police Chief Dwayne Hobbs.

The most recent alumnus on the board is Jennifer Rosenbaum, a 2013 Clayton State graduate, who is attending law school at Emory University.

Also serving on the board are Randy Muth, founder and executive director of the Angkor Resource Center in Riverdale, and Atlanta attorney David Worley.

Military notes

Air Force Airman Mykeedah Patillo graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland in San Antonio, Texas. Patillo, the daughter of Doris Patillo of Ellenwood and Michael Patillo of Atlanta, is a 2007 graduate of Morrow High School.

Air Force Airman Brandon Scott graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland in San Antonio, Texas. Scott is the son of Latrevelle Duckworth of Fayetteville and Craig Scott of Jonesboro.