BOE to vote for new chairperson

— The Clayton County Board of Education will start off the new year by swearing in its new members and electing its leadership at Monday night’s meeting.

The board will meet at 5:30 p.m. for Judge Pam Ferguson to swear in new board members District 2 Mark Christmas, who defeated Wanda Smith in the runoff election with 78.64 percent of votes, and District 7 Judy Johnson, who defeated Trinia Garrett in the runoff election with 84.93 percent of votes.

Returning board members District 3 Jessie Goree, District 5 Ophelia Burroughs and District 6 Mary Baker will be sworn in for a new four-year term as well.

Later, the board will vote on a new board chairman and board vice-chairman, positions currently held by District 1 Pam Adamson and Baker, respectively.

According to the board of education website, “the chairperson shall be elected bi-annually at the January meeting by the board of education and shall be eligible for re-election to subsequent terms of office by a majority vote of the Board. The vice-chair shall be elected by the board annually at the regular January meeting and shall serve for the remainder of the calendar year.”

Adamson said the board will select candidates based on leadership.

“It’ll be just like any other kind of election,” Adamson said. “We’ll have nominations and the board will vote.”

The board will also discuss the letter written to Dr. Elgart, president of Southern Accreditation of Colleges and Schools (SACS), which is due by Jan. 15.

The purpose of the letter is to indicate what progress has been made toward the issues mentioned in the letter from SACS by Jan. 15. Board members were also required to describe their readiness for the External Review Visit for District Accreditation.

Adamson said she believes the meeting will be fairly standard and doesn’t expect any unforeseen obstacles or conflicts.

“It looks like a fairly routine meeting,” Adamson said. “We’ll elect officers, we’ll do the regular set agenda and I didn’t see anything surprising on that.”

Monday night’s meeting will begin at 6 p.m. at the school system's Central Administration Complex, 1058 Fifth Ave., Jonesboro.