BOE to continue 20-mill rate

JONESBORO — The millage rate will remain unchanged for the Clayton County Board of Education.

The board approved 5-1 to continue its 20-mill property tax for education Thursday during a special called meeting.

Board members Michael Bivins, Mary Baker, Judy Johnson, Ophelia Burroughs and Chairwoman Dr. Pam Adamson voted in favor of the measure. Michael King was the opposing vote.

Chief Financial Officer Ken Thompson said the board will see an estimated $107.8 million in property tax revenues for fiscal year 2014. He said the money would be incorporated into the $351.9 general funds budget, which also includes other local and state revenues.

He said the rate has been at its 20-mill maximum for several years, with the exception of a 1-year decrease to 19.836 mills in 2008.