Clayton schools announce early release for last day


JONESBORO — Clayton County Public Schools will release students early the last day of school May 23.

School officials said the early release is necessary to allow everyone the opportunity to attend graduation ceremonies.

Drew High School seniors will be the first to graduate, so students will be released at 11 a.m. All county elementary schools will be released at 11:30 a.m.

The eight remaining Clayton County high schools will dismiss at 12:30 p.m. followed by the release of all county middle schools at 1:30 p.m.

Officials said parents and daycare providers should plan accordingly. Schools will begin at the regular times and school bus routes will run in accordance with the early release schedule.

The Campus Kids program will begin when students are released and will continue through the regular dismissal time.


Special Photo Kemp Primary Chorus and Student Council recently performed at the state capitol. They also met with members of the Clayton County Delegation including Sens. Valencia Seay and Gail Davenport and Reps. Mike Glanton, Demetrius Douglas and Keisha Waites. Assistant Principal Dr. Lee Buddy, counselor Annette McCraw and chorus director Carrie Roberts coordinated the trip.

JROTC recognizes honor society inductees

Morrow High School’s Air Force JROTC program recently inducted its first members of the Kitty Hawk Air Society.

The academic honor society for cadets promotes high academic standards and achievement, school and community service, self-confidence and initiative. It is also designed to develop leadership abilities, recognizes academic excellence and furthers members’ knowledge of the Air Force role in aerospace.

Principal Dr. Pamela Pitts presented each member with a certificate.

“This is a proud day for Morrow High School and the GA-791 JROTC unit,” she said.

The new members include Abdullah Taahirah, Dakota Atkins, Jose Avila, Candies Beasley, Sade Bennett, Deyanira Bentacourt, Jaia Bostic, Warner Britt, Jasmine Choun, Candace Coleman, Anitra Colvin, Jordan Cook, Chicaya Cooper, Timara Crawford, Koffi Desouza, Joshua Dookie, Malik Dumas, Jordan Dunbar, Matthew Faulk, Chania Forte, Ashley Grant, Toni Hall, Jahbri Hollis, Joseph Hua and Ja’ilah Johnson.

The list continues with Courtney Jones, Dwain Jones, Quinton Lewis, Cameron Lindsey, Meliek Love, Loan Luu, Armoni Mitchell, Levonna Nkansah, Ure Obasi, Vanessa Okechuku, Daeonica Owens, Jasmine Perkins, Earnest Rainer, Trenton Riley, Tevin Roberts, Tinisha Rouse, Xaleon Shields, Mayra Sierra-Moysen, Gregory Smith, Naeysha Sneed, Adriana Stephen, Anekeya Stewart, Sy Tran, Langley Tyler, Javon Walton, Kennecia Watson, Michael Webb, Alyssa Wilhite, Shayla Williams, Alex Winkfield, Ashley World and Breyon Wyatt.


Special Photo The Jonesboro High School Orchestra warms up in the gymnasium at Jonesboro First Baptist Church for the Georgia Music Educators Association Large Group Performance Evaluation Monday. The orchestra earned highest "superior" ratings under the direction of Orchestra Director Jennifer Coons.

EPA’s Myers joins New York Times Talk

Clayton State University’s partnership with the New York Times continues Friday with a New York Times Talk on “Environmental Change and the Role of the Government in Stopping Catastrophes.”

The event will feature Dr. Jacqueline Jordan, an associate professor of biology at Clayton State, and Bryan M. Myers, energy and climate change coordinator for Region 4 of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

It will be held from 1 p.m. until 2 p.m. in room 267 at the James M. Baker University Center. It is free and open to the public.

Myers has worked for EPA for more than 17 years as both an engineer and attorney. He has a law degree from the University of Oregon and bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Military notes

Army Pfc. Laura Morgan has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson in Columbia, S.C. Morgan, a 2012 graduate of Morrow High School, is the daughter Jeanette Morgan of Hampton. She is also the daughter of Allen Morgan and stepdaughter of Karen Morgan, both of Ellenwood.

Make submissions to Johnny Jackson via email at jjackson@news-daily.com or call 770-478-5753 ext. 257.