Callahan, Daniel to be honored Monday in state ceremony

By Kathy Jefcoats


FORSYTH — Clayton County police Officer Sean Callahan will be recognized with other fallen officers Monday during annual ceremonies at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth.


Sean Callahan

Callahan, 24, of Kennesaw, died the day after being shot at a Stockbridge motel Dec. 17. He and his partner had answered a domestic disturbance call and were trying to take a couple into custody when the husband allegedly shot him. Callahan's partner returned fire, killing the man, identified later as Tremaine Lebis, a convicted felon and career criminal.

During Monday's 2 p.m. ceremony, keynote speaker Gov. Nathan Deal will recognize and honor Georgia public safety officers who have died while on duty. The ceremony is hosted by Georgia Public Safety Memorial Committee, Board of Public Safety, and Georgia Public Safety Training Center.

The Public Safety Memorial Ceremony honors public safety officials from all disciplines including law enforcement, fire services, emergency medical services, corrections, prosecutors and other professionals who have lost their lives while on duty in Georgia, said GPSTC spokeswoman Katherine Kemp.

The names of the fallen will be added to Georgia’s Public Safety Memorial Wall, which was established in 1997 to recognize the dedication and the ultimate sacrifice made by these brave men and women, she said.


Officer Elgin Daniel

In addition to Callahan, this year's honorees include Henry County police Officer Elgin Daniel, who died after being struck by a hit and run driver. Daniel, 53, of Ellenwood had stopped while on duty to help a stranded motorist on Ga. 138 in Stockbridge. He spent most of his career — 26 years — with the DeKalb County Police Department.

Other honorees are William A. Hyers, Adel Police Department, who died May 26, 1902; Franklin Leland Williams, Bibb County Sheriff's Office, died Aug. 11, 1918; Walter Brakes, Waycross Police Department, died Aug. 26, 1920; Donald Moon, Athens-Clarke County Police Department, died Nov. 3, 1963; Robert Shane Wilson, Doraville Police Department, died Nov.14, 2011.

Gail Denise Thomas, Atlanta Police Department, who died Jan. 24, 2012; Robert Warren "Bobby" Crapse Sr., Bryan County Sheriff's Office, died June 15; Larry Lee Stell, Georgia Department of Corrections, died Oct. 11; Richard Joseph Halford and Shawn A. Smiley, both of Atlanta Police Department, died Nov. 3.