Cabrera, McCutchen receive MVP awards


* Diamondbacks’ Goldschmidt second in NL voting

Nov 14 — Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers won his second successive American League Most Valuable Player Award, while Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates claimed National League honors on Thursday.

Third baseman Cabrera, who batted .348 with 44 home runs and 137 runs batted in, received 23 of the 30 first-place votes registered by select members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Centerfielder McCutchen, who hit .317, drove in 84 runs and stole 27 bases, was a runaway winner for the National League award, garnering 28 first-place votes from the 30 ballots.

Los Angeles Angels centerfielder Mike Trout was runner-up in the American League voting, just as he was in 2012, receiving five first-place votes after hitting .323 with 27 home runs and 33 stolen bases.

Slugger first baseman Chris Davis of the Baltimore Orioles, who belted 53 homers and drove in 138 runs, finished third in the voting.

In the National League, first baseman Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondbacks, who tied for the league lead with 36 homers and led the circuit with 125 RBIs, was second in the voting.

St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina received the other two first-place votes after batting .319 with 80 RBIs and providing great leadership behind the plate.