Atlanta Motor Speedway fans to benefit from Daytona 500 winner

Driver Austin Dillon will be on the pole when the Daytona 500 runs on Sunday to signify the start of the NASCAR season. (Special Photo: Jasen Vinlove/USA TODAY Sports)

Driver Austin Dillon will be on the pole when the Daytona 500 runs on Sunday to signify the start of the NASCAR season. (Special Photo: Jasen Vinlove/USA TODAY Sports)

HAMPTON — The winner of Sunday’s Daytona 500 could be beneficial for several Atlanta Motor Speedway fans.

Atlanta Motor Speedway officials have brought back the popular Racing Roulette promotion that offers fans the opportunity to purchase tickets for the track’s Labor Day Weekend NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race for the price of the winning car number at the Daytona 500.

AMS will make 1,000 tickets available for sale near the start/finish line in the lower Champions grandstand for a special promotional price equal to the car number of the Daytona 500 winner. Lower Champions grandstand tickets are regularly priced at $99. If the car number of the Daytona 500 winner is 60 or higher, AMS will offer tickets as part of the promotion for $59, giving fans a $40 savings. Fans will be limited to two tickets at the promotional price per order.

Tickets priced at the winning car number of the Daytona 500 will go on sale beginning on Monday at 9 a.m. and will be available until the allotment is sold out. If the running of the Daytona 500 is delayed, the offer will also be available beginning the day following the running of the event.

“Racing Roulette has been a highly popular promotion for our fans,” AMS President Ed Clark said. “This is a great opportunity for 1,000 fans to enjoy one of NASCAR’s premier events at a great price and have lots of fun in doing so.”

Last year, the allotment of tickets for Racing Roulette were sold out within five minutes.

The promotion was introduced in 2008, and was also used by AMS in 2009 and 2010. In 2008, tickets were just $12 as Ryan Newman in the No. 12 car captured the Daytona 500. In 2009, Matt Kenseth was victorious in the No. 17 earning fans the opportunity to purchase $17 tickets. Jamie McMurray drove the No. 1 car to victory lane in the 2010 Daytona 500 and fans purchased tickets for just $1.

Last season Jimmie Johnson won the race en route to winning his sixth Sprint Cup Series championship. Austin Dillon won the pole for Sunday’s race, and will be driving the historic No. 3 car in its return to NASCAR Sprint Cup Series racing for the first time since 2001.

Johnson is trying to become the first driver to repeat at the Daytona 500 since Sterling Martin won consecutive races in 1994-95. Other back-to-back winners were Cale Yarborough (1983-84) and Richard Petty (1973-74).

The No. 3 car was last driven by the late Dale Earnhardt, who elevated the number to iconic status on the racing circuit. Earnhardt was a seven-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion. A last lap crash in the 2001 Daytona 500 took Earnhardt’s life, and the No. 3 car had not been run since.

“You want to perform with the No. 3; everyone wants to see it perform,” Dillon said. “It’s a long season, and this is one of the top points. You want to carry that momentum going forward. I just have to stay grounded and have fun.”

This is the second straight season that “The Great American Race” will have a historic start. Last year, Danica Patrick became the first woman in NASCAR history to win the pole for the Daytona 500.