Clayton BOE approves “rollback” millage

JONESBORO — School board members voted unanimously to approve a recalculated millage rate below the previous year’s 20-mill maximum.

Clayton County Board of Education Chairwoman Dr. Pam Adamson, Vice Chairwoman Dr. Alieka Anderson, Mark Christmas, Jessie Goree and Judy Johnson favored a 19.804 “rollback” millage rate for fiscal year 2015.

Members Charlton Bivins, Mary Baker, Ophelia Burroughs and Michael King were not present for the July 10 vote.

The rollback rate is the result of revenue neutral caculations through the Clayton County Tax Commissioner’s Office. The calculations take into consideration the adjustments to the digest made for reappraisals.

Officials said adopting a millage rate of 19.804 mills will result in no tax increase to taxpayers, which meant no public hearings were required before the adoption of the FY15 millage rate.