North Clayton student takes part in 2014 Leadership Unplugged

School Notebook 6-27-14

COLLEGE PARK — Ryan Smith of North Clayton High participated in the ninth annual Leadership Unplugged: A CNN Experience, a week-long 21st Century Leaders program hosted in partnership with CNN Worldwide and Turner Broadcasting System Inc.

The program, held June 22-27 on the campus of Georgia Institute of Technology, was developed to teach rising Georgia high school juniors and seniors about media literacy, journalism and personal leadership.

Some 78 high school students selected from a competitive pool of applicants statewide learn how news stories are presented on different platforms, as well as the impact social media has on the media landscape.

Clayton County students participate in STEM Honors Camp

Charisma Osuagwu of Elite Scholars Academy and Romijn Penn of Mundy’s Mill High participated in the third annual STEM Honors Camp at Columbus State University.

The June 1-13 camp is a component in the Columbus Region Academy of Future Teachers of STEM and part of Columbus State’s endeavor to help produce more teachers of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Zheng was part of a select group of 24 participants who learned how to solve new math problems, conduct scientific experiments and develop and hone lab skills with hands-on experiences in STEM fields. Participants spent time at the Coca-Cola Space Science Center and the Oxbow Meadows Environmental Learning Center.

Young volunteers recognized by in Kohl’s Cares Scholarship Program

Sydney-Alyce Bourget, 17, of Jonesboro and Makila Calhoun, 8, of Ellenwood are among hundreds of young volunteers nationwide are being recognized by Kohl’s Department Stores’ Kohl’s Cares Scholarship Program. The young people are being honored for their positive community service and volunteerism.

Bevin Bailis is senior vice president of communications and public relations at Kohl’s. Bailis said 71 young Georgians will each receive a $50 gift card and recognition certificate from Kohl’s to honor their community service efforts.

“At Kohl’s, we believe in giving back to our communities, and we are delighted to honor the more than 2,300 local level winners nationwide who have given their time and talent to do just that,” said Bailis. “Through their service these youth are truly making a positive impact on their communities.”

The winners qualify for the chance to receive a $1,000 regional scholarship for higher education, which Kohl’s will award in July. Of the nearly 200 regional winners, 10 national winners will each receive a total of $10,000 in scholarships, and Kohl’s will donate $1,000 to a nonprofit organization on each national winner’s behalf.

Residents graduate, earn academic honors

David Paul of Jonesboro has graduated from the University of Hartford with a master’s in business administration.

Clayton County residents were members of the spring 2014 graduating class at Mercer University. They included Erica Burke of Rex; Chi Truong and Cynthia Thomas, both of Morrow; Tracey Eutsey, Cassandra Johnson and Angelicia Welsh, all of Riverdale; and Nicolle Braggs, Annlena Cannady, Johnny Sayarath,Pamela Fields, Vernee Jennings, Taneisha Pugh, Debutante Besley, Braeden Orr and Daven Patel, all of Jonesboro.

Jonesboro residents Angela Nicole Jolly and Jasmine Earlene Manning represented Clayton County in the University of North Georgia’s Class of 2014.

Georgia Southern University has named several Clayton County residents to its spring 2014 semester academic honors lists.

Georgia Southern’s Dean’s List includes Kamiyah Franks and Amber McCullough, both of Forest Park; Christopher Herron and Maia Jasper, both of Rex; Vincent Faison II, Carlissa Hill, Tashna Placide and Alexis Ramsey, all of Riverdale; and Shree Allison, Jennae Arnold, Mika Billins, Chassidy Copeland, Christopher Holmes, Darya Kovalska, Termar Lawton, Jake Ramey and Jazmin Tribble, all of Jonesboro. Its President’s List includes Jonesboro residents Brittany Waters and Khiry Powell.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must have at least a 3.5 GPA and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester. Students must have at least a 4.0 GPA and 12 hours to be named to the President’s List.

Avion Bell of Morrow was named to the Columbus State University spring 2014 semester Dean’s List, having maintained at least 12 credit hours and a grade point average of 3.6 or higher. Alyssa Stokes of Riverdale also was named to the university’s President’s List.

Jonesboro resident Monica McKnight was named to the Reinhardt University spring 2014 semester Dean’s List.

Happenings in Clayton County Public Schools

Clayton County Public Schools has announce a new site for the Summer Food Service Program, established at North Clayton Middle, 5517 West Fayetteville Road in College Park. Meals will be provided to all children without charge from 8 a.m. until 9 a.m. and from 11 a.m. until 12 p.m., through July 24.

The district also plans to sponsor a Clayton PROUD Back-to-School Celebration on Saturday, Aug. 2. The event, lasting from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m., will be held at Charles Drew High, 6237 Garden Walk Blvd. in Riverdale.

Businesses, groups or individuals interested in participating in or donating to the back-to-school celebration are asked to call Vicki Gavalas at 404-960-9467 or Charles White at 770-652-3725 by July 18.