Clayton has full slate of elected office candidates

JONESBORO — Clayton County voters will have their hands full when they go to the polls to chose their elected leaders in the May 20 primary.

All but one of the local races for county commission and school board will be contested in the Democratic primary. Commissioner Sonna Singleton will face four challengers in the primary and an independent candidate in the November general election. Commissioner Michael Edmondson, meanwhile, will face two challengers.

School board Chairwoman Pam Adamson, Vice-Chairwoman Alieka Anderson and board member Michael King each have one Democratic challenger. Board member Charlton Bivins is the only local official — in a partisan seat — who will coast to re-election without a challenger.

State Court Judge Michael Garrett will face Betrick Donald Scott in a non-partisan judicial race. the other judges up for re-election this year, including State Court Judge John C. Carbo and Superior Court Judges Geronda Carter and Albert Collier will run unopposed.

Several members of the Clayton County Legislative Delegation will face opposition in May, but the biggest surprise may be that former state Rep. Roberta Abdul-Salaam will run against District 74 Rep. Valencia Stovall (D-Ellenwood).

Abdul-Salaam introduced Stovall to the public and practically endorsed her two years ago when the ex-legislator announced plans to run for county commission chairman. Former state Rep. Yasmin Neal, who lost her re-election bid in District 75 two years ago, is also running against Stovall.

State Sens. Valencia Seay and Gail Davenport will also face Democratic opposition.

The full list of candidates who qualified for local and state officies includes:

Clayton County Board of Commissioners

District 1

Democrat — Sonna Singleton (incumbent)

Joyce Baul

Rosa Barbee

Jae Brown

Richard Reagan

Independent — Walter Nix Sr.


District 4

Democrat — Michael Edmondson (incumbent)

Larry Bussey

Robbie Moore


Clayton County Board of Education

District 1

Democrat — Pamela Adamson (incumbent)

Angela McSwain


District 4

Democrat — Michael King (incumbent)

Kithya Kim


District 8

Democrat — Alieka Anderson (incumbent)

Jeffery Benoit


District 9

Democrat — Charlton Bivins (incumbent)


Clayton County Superior Court (seat held by Geronda Carter)

Geronda Carter (incumbent)


Clayton County Superior Court (seat held by Albert Collier)

Albert Collier (incumbent)


Clayton County State Court (seat held by John C. Carbo)

John C. Carbo (incumbent)


Clayton County State Court (seat held by Michael T. Garrett)

Michael T. Garrett

Betrick Donald Scott


State representative

District 60

Democrat — Keisha Waites (incumbent)


District 63

Democrat — Ronnie Mabra (incumbent)


District 74

Democrat — Valencia Stovall (incumbent)

Roberta Abdul-Salaam

Yasmin Neal


District 75

Democrat — Mike Glanton (incumbent)


District 76

Democrat — Sandra Scott (incumbent)


District 77

Democrat — Darryl Jordan (incumbent)


District 78

Democrat — Demetrius Douglas (incumbent)

Republican — Christopher Deraney


State senator

District 34

Democrat — Valencia Seay (incumbent)

Sherry T. Mallory


District 44

Democrat — Gail Davenport (incumbent)

Marcus Davis


U.S. Representative

District 5

Democrat — John Lewis (incumbent)


District 13

Democrat — David Scott (incumbent)

Michael Owens



Republican — Nathan Deal (incumbent)

John Barge

David Pennington

Democrat — Jason Carter


Lieutenant Governor

Republican — Casey Cagle (incumbent)

Democrat — Connie Stokes


Attorney General

Republican — Sam Olens (incumbent)

Democrat — Greg Hecht


Secretary of State

Republican — Brian Kemp (incumbent)

Democrat — Gerald Beckum

Doreen Carter


State School Superintendent

Republican — Allen Fort

Ashley Bell

Kira Willis

Mary Kay Bacallao

Michael Buck

Nancy Jester

Richard Woods

Sharyl Dawes

Fitz Johnson

Democrat — Alisha Thomas Morgan

Jurita Mays

Marion Spencer “Denise” Freeman

Rita Robinzine

Tarnisha Dent

Valarie Wilson


U.S. Senator (to replace retiring Sen. Saxby Chambliss)

Republican — Arthur Gardner

David Perdue

Derrick Grayson

Jack Kingston

Phil Gingrey

Karen Handel

Paul Broun

Democrat — Branko Radulovacki

Michelle Nunn

Steen Miles

Todd Robinson