After months of wrangling, BOC, Development Authority to hold Nov. 12 joint session

The Development Authority of Clayton County and the Clayton County Board of Commissioners will hold a joint meeting at 6 p.m. Nov. 13 at Clayton State University's Arbor Hall Auditorium at 5823 Trammell Road, which is on CSU's East Campus.

JONESBORO—The Clayton County Board of Commissioners and the Development Authority of Clayton County are scheduled to hold a work session meeting at 6 p.m. om Tuesday, Nov. 12.

The session will take place at Arbor Hall Auditorium on Clayton State University's East Campus, 5823 Trammell Rd., Morrow.

On the joint agenda are the following new business items:

• Working together the Board of Commissioners and the Development Authority

• Discussion of the mission of both and goals

• Executive Session to discuss real estate and legal liabilities.

• Consideration of Items from Executive Session

• Appreciation of Joint Session 

The move comes after the Oct. 8 meeting minutes noted that "the (Development) Authority voted to authorize conflict counsel, Greg Hecht, to respond to the letter from the attorney representing the Board of Commissioners to request a special called meeting or joint meeting with the Clayton County Board of Commissioners as described above." Tim Gilrane made the motion to approve, seconded by Herman Andrews and passed unanimously.

On Nov. 5, the Board of Commissioners voted to remove "certain board and authority appointees for violations of the Clayton County ethics code." The measure specifically "authorize(d) the removal of noncompliant members from the Development Authority." Turner made the motion, which was seconded by Commissioner Felicia Franklin Warner and passed 3-2. Commissioner Demont Davis voted for, while Commissioners Gail Hambrick and Sonna Singleton Gregory voted against.

The BOC then voted 3-2 to appoint Jean Claude Bourget to fill the unexpired term of DACC member Louis Johnson through March 1, 2021. Davis made the motion, Franklin Warner seconded, and Turner voted yes, while Hambrick and Singleton Gregory voted no.

On Aug. 12, the Clayton County Board of Ethics said that  Johnson and three other county board members had not returned their ethics disclosure forms. The Board of Ethics voted to recommend that the BOC, "at its discretion...suspend or remove these people from their respective boards for failure to file the ethics disclosure form." 

Clayton County Chairman Jeff Turner has described the joint effort over the past several months as "a process." 

The Development Authority's regular meeting agenda for 6 p.m. Nov. 12 includes a treasurer's report from Herman Andrews, a project presentation by Khalfani Stephens, and lists a request from Castellini's under "old business." 

New business on the agenda includes:

• URA refinancing request

• Ford reimbursement request

• Officer Elections

Other business slated to follow includes an executive session to discuss "real estate and potential litigation," followed by "consideration of items, if any, discussed in Executive Session."

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.