JONESBORO — Qualifying in the Nov. 5 municipal elections ended Friday afternoon, setting the stage for political contests for mayor and council posts in cities in Clayton County.

Following are qualified candidates in Jonesboro, Forest Park, Riverdale, Morrow and College Park.



♦ Joy B. Day (incumbent);

♦ Alfred R. Dixon

City Council:

♦ Ed Wise (incumbent);

♦ Joel Aviles;

♦ Cameron Dixon;

♦ Helen Meadows;

♦ Tracey Messick; and

♦ Donya Sartor.

For more about the election, visit the city’s elections website at www.jonesboroga.com/MunicipalElections.aspx


City Council Ward 3:

♦ Sandra J. Bagley (incumbent);

♦ Hector Gutierrez;

♦ Patricia Manley

City Council Ward 4:

♦ Latresa Akins-Wells (incumbent);

♦ Yasmin Julio

City Council Ward 5:

♦ Allan Mears (Incumbent); and

♦ Jemila Ward.


Mayor at Large:

♦ Evelyn Wynn-Dixon (incumbent);

♦ An’cel Davis

City Council, Ward 2:

♦ Rodney Lawrence;

♦ Frank Cobbs

City Council, Ward 4:

♦ Kenneth Ruffin (Incumbent); and

♦ Terry Windley.

New voters and existing voters who need to update their information have until Oct. 7 to do so.

Early voting starts Oct. 14 and ends Nov. 1 at the Old City Hall Building, 6690 Church St., Riverdale, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For more details, or to check your voter registration, visit the city’s election webpage at https://bit.ly/2KM9zkO or the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page at https://www.mvp.sos.ga.gov/MVP/mvp.do.



Jack Longino (incum♦ bent);

Pamela Gay;

♦ Ronald Fears;

♦ Kaseem Ladipo;

♦ Bianca Motley Broom; and

♦ John Duke.

City Council Ward 1:

♦ Ambrose Clay (incumbent);

♦ Thomas Kuziniacki;

♦ Kathleen McQueen;

City Council Ward 3:

♦ Ken Allen;

♦ Tracey Wyatt (incumbent);

♦ Sharonda Cody Boyd



♦ Jeffrey DeTar (incumbent);

♦ John Lampl;

♦ Bonita Crawford;

City Council Post 2:

♦ Jeanell Bridges (Incumbent);

♦ Van T. Tran;

Council Seat Post 4:

♦ Larry Ferguson (incumbent);

♦ Gilda White Hutcheson; and

♦ Khoa Vuong

Stay Informed